Wednesday Lensday: Paper City

Wednesday Lensday: Paper City

On Sunday, we managed to catch the last day of a sculpture exhibition in and around Hull’s Humber Street. The area where the marina stands was once a dock and Humber Street was a hub for traders, particularly fruit merchants.

However, it fell into decline and lay mostly derelict for some years, before being transformed into an eclectic mix of bars, restaurants, artisan cafes, music venues and art galleries.

PAPER CITY1

Above: an installation in the art gallery – blow it and it lights up in different colours!

So it was the natural choice to house the Paper City exhibit, part of the City of Culture events. The ten day display explored our relationship with paper and play, with eight artists and designers invited to create something using one of the most fundamental mediums for creativity.

PAPER CITY16

The paper itself was supplied by a Hull company, G.F. Smith. who have apparently found the world’s favourite colour: Marrs Green. I’m not entirely sure who they asked to derive this opinion, certainly not me – I’d have gone for a more demure, earthy green. Or Purple. Can’t beat a bit of purple!

Being a fan of origami, I was intrigued with how these structures, some around 10 foot high, had been formed. And whilst not strictly an example of the Oriental craft, they were fantastic, intricate designs. Some cut, some folded, all distinctly different.

PAPER CITY2

Several took the theme of fish, or the sea, to complement the City’s history – these seaweed kites (below) were some of my favourites, helped by where they had been displayed in the old, abandoned smokehouse.

PAPER CITY9

All in all, another great event from the Culture 2017 team! Do stroll through the rest of our little ‘paper trail’… and just one more question before you leave: What is YOUR favourite colour? Let me know in the comments!

PAPER CITY6

PAPER CITY7

PAPER CITY12

PAPER CITY4

PAPER CITY11

PAPER CITY10

PAPER CITY15

PAPER CITY14


IMAGE CREDITS: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook? Come and say hi!

21 thoughts on “Wednesday Lensday: Paper City

    1. Thanks Sandra! There was one I didn’t take a snap of – simple piles of coloured paper at right angles to each other. It was like a stationary shop dream!

      Like

  1. I love exhibits like that. Unexpected creativity. I’ve read surveys that report the majority of the world’s population (by extrapolation) claims blue as their most popular color. My favorite is a rich, rusty orange.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to adore that shade alongside purple – as a teenager I remember trying to use the combination for everything! I think you’re right though, I bet most people would opt for blue. I wonder why…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the weaving did look fabulous, especially with how long it was. Black… now, is that a true colour?! πŸ˜‰ (I remember having many debates with my art teacher about black and white not being real colours!!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think of them as colours too but my art teacher always referred to them as neutrals, telling me that they couldn’t be true colours as white light is all the spectrum and blackness is the absence of light, and therefore has no colour πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What fun…love the seaweed and the intricate weaving. As for Marrs Green…looks like a washed out grass green…I’ll pass…I love all the blues…from Teal to Sky to Cobalt to Navy. Thanks for a fun visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome Jeanne – glad you enjoyed it! The photo possibly doesn’t do it justice as the green is quite vibrant, but still a little brash for my taste. I do like blues though, always give a fresh feel with crisp whites πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

