Gallery

Wednesday Lensday: Watching the Watchers…

This week’s collection of images has been inspired by Cee’s black and white prompt: Any kind of camera or photos of photographers. I decided on the title to make it sound a little sinister – a tenuous link to fit in with my month of loosely Halloween-y related posts!

Capturing photographers concentrating on their craft or simply images of cameras, new and old, is something I’ve always found quite evocative. However, as I’ve mentioned before, as much as I like taking candid photos of strangers, I do often feel intrusive and bottle it before I get a good shot! So with that in mind, I could have called the post ‘Selfies and Stalking S‘ as the majority of these archive images are of me and him!

The Louvre

However, there’s a small selection, actually taken by S, that has become a little joke quest whenever we’re on holiday – how many people we can find taking images using iPads! Whilst I can’t deny that iPads (and other mobile Apple products) have fantastic, in-built cameras, they do seem quite cumbersome for carrying around to take holiday snaps with. And when you’re at a highly visited landmark / attraction, it sometimes becomes impossible to see the actual monument, past all the digital screens being held aloft! Perhaps our next covert project will be people with selfie-sticks…

Anyway, I hope you enjoy them – don’t forget to check out the other entries in the photo challenge too. And as always, thanks for looking! 🙂


Image Credits: All my own (except for the iPad images, which are all by S!) – so please be sweet and ask before sharing. 🙂

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

27 thoughts on “Wednesday Lensday: Watching the Watchers…

  1. Love this gallery. Did you take these in mono or edit to B&W in post? I totally agree about ipads. They look so naff, IMO. That said I’m sure they look at me with my SLR and go “look at that idiot lugging that gym weight around with him”. Vive la difference. Congrats on the selection by Cee. That’s how I found you and look forward to following your images 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the comments and following 🙂
      They’re all edited in post – I used to take them in mono then I was told this was wrong. But I’m such an amateur. Technically, I’m sure I’m making hundreds of mistakes – I like to just play around with images until I have something I like. It usually just involves whacking up the contrast!
      You have some stunning images – I particularly like your Vietnam ones. Pleased to find and follow back 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Haylee. I’m the same as you. A keen amateur. Oh who told you it was wrong? I think that the ‘pros’ take in RAW anyway and then you can do anything with the photo in post. If you get a sec I’d love if you could check out this post and let me know your thoughts. It kinda relates to what you have said in your comment. And btw thanks for stopping by and the follow 🙂 Cheers http://thirtysummers.com/2015/09/22/why-i-think-photography-is-like-a-patchwork-quilt/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, it was ‘pros’ who told me to take everything in RAW and edit later. But if I had to work out what settings to use before taking a shot, it would take me all day to capture 3 images! It’s probably laziness at the end of the day, but then I’ve never been the most technical person!
        Thanks for directing me to your post – I’ve left you a comment 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 Playing with them is the best bit – although it’s a good job I only have a free version of photoshop. I’d be here all day if I had access to every feature!

      Like

    1. Aww, thank you! I do love having weekly fixed theme posts, but I definitely couldn’t write about the same thing all the time. So at least recipes and photos are varied enough to keep me (and hopefully everyone else!) interested.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! This is one of my favourites too – and happened by accident so even better 🙂 It just needs a choir of angels to burst into song as the sun pops out! So is the Professor a dabbler in photography too?

      Like

      1. Haha, touché!
        You know what, I was just thinking about you and how I like your comments because they’re always something suitably random (you’re my top commenter, I’ll have you know!) and then up popped a little notification. So you’re either psychic, or there’s some kind of FBI tap thingummy in my head 😉

        Like

Leave a comment