Throwback Thursday: Little Logic – it’s all about badgers!

Throwback Thursday: Little Logic – it’s all about badgers!

This post is from almost two years ago but I was reminded of it this week when out on a very soggy school trip in British ‘summertime’ to the local farm. One of the children, who is five, wanted to keep us entertained on the bus ride and was asking us for our favourite Lady Gaga and Little Mix songs so he could sing them. I’m not sure he meant to be so amusing whilst he was singing ‘It’s my POKER SPACE, my, my POKER SPACE’ and ‘Shout out to my EGGS’ at the top of his voice!!

So, for Throwback Thursday, here are some little gems collected from my teaching career – please add any quality additions from our younger generations in the comments!


Okay, so teachers all strive to assist children in achieving those lightbulb moments, wanting to hear the little cries of discovery and realisation of a concept or skill. However, getting there is generally a journey of constant repetition, hair pulling (of the teachers, not the kids!) and often downright hilarity!

I hadn’t intended on this being my blog post today but yesterday a child delivered an utterly fabulous one liner (actually one ‘worder’) in a response to a question, that I felt it needed sharing. Let’s face it, children say the weirdest / funniest / most random of things, that to them probably seem completely plausible based on their short experience of the world. Some ideas are sweet, others slightly misconstrued information. And then there are the ROFL-copter worthy answers that eventually turn your tears of laughter to tears of despair when it dawns on you that you’re the one who’s been educating this child, so clearly you’ve not been doing your job properly!

I’d never want to stomp on their little egos though, so the laughter remains (for the most part) internalised whilst gently correcting the misconceptions. Safely stored in the memory bank however, I can whip them out as an anecdote to amuse the masses, occasionally even using them as a teaching tool.

So here are some of my favourites from the last few years – I’m positive there are many you could share with me too (please do!). Let’s learn to take things a little less seriously and embrace the daftness of childhood – it’s all kinds of amazing!


MATHS:

Q: What do you add to 5 to make 10?

A: Erm…badgers?

badger_2369182b

(I mean, how am I supposed to respond to that?!)


Q: What’s the bottom number of a fraction called?

A: The determinator!

maxresdefault


Angles bigger than 90 degrees Miss? I know that, it’s ABUSE!


ENGLISH:

Dear Mr. Willy Wanka…


R.E:

I know I’m part of a community because I’ve got the book.

(…and the T-shirt?)


HISTORY:

I think slavery means you do a lot of gardening.


In the 1950s, if a boy wanted to ask a girl out, first he would always ask, ‘Can you fix my tractor?’

JS60938613


COMPUTING:

Looking at a picture of Steve Jobs:

That’s my cousin’s uncle!

(Doesn’t that make him your dad??)


GEOGRAPHY:

The effects of not recycling are you will get a disease and it will END YOU!

357px-Uncle_Sam_(pointing_finger)


SOCIAL STUDIES:

A boy, kissing another boy? Huh, whatever next…

(Clearly seven going on seventy!)


Image Credits: Originals from YouTube, Pinterest and dailyrecord.com

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Little Logic – it’s all about badgers!

  1. At Syracuse University’s Preschool Program – Two 4 year old girls chatting: I’m from Syracuse…where are you from? I’m from Africa. Wow, it must take you a long time to get to school! I miss the classroom…kids are too much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

