Wednesday Lensday: New Year, New (Ca)ME(ra)

Wednesday Lensday: New Year, New (Ca)ME(ra)

I took my new little Sony CyberShot out for a walk along the beach, just after Christmas, so that I could get a first feel for it.

new-cam5

Have to say, I do enjoy having an actual zooming lens back despite so far only really using it on auto settings. The camera has plenty of functions I can play around with over the next few weeks though – just have to not fall back into lazy ways!

It was a very ethereal light on the beach that day and I do like to go against the rules and shoot into the sun – with a backdrop of the Humber Bridge and a flock of gulls, I was happy with the atmospheric / moody outcome. πŸ™‚

new-cam1

new-cam3

new-cam6

new-cam11

new-cam2

new-cam7

new-cam8

new-cam9

new-cam10


Image Credits: AllΒ  my own.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook? Come and say hi!

 

31 thoughts on “Wednesday Lensday: New Year, New (Ca)ME(ra)

  1. Lovely photos. My hubby took a photo directly into the sun when we went to Blackpool in October. It was only taken on a phone but, yes it threw a whole new light on things. I’ll have to google ethereal (using big words πŸ˜‰) to see if that’s how our picture looked. Will hunt it down and post it. Like you say you’re always told to have the sun behind you when taking shots. You proved them wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think that’s why I could never study photography properly because I’d rebel!
      At the end of the day, I know what I like and in most cases it turns out well even if it does break every rule in the manual! I’ve always just taken images primarily for my own enjoyment, I’m just lucky that other people seem to like them too.
      But yes, post the image – it will be interesting to see it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I googled ethereal, still not entirely sure of its meaning, but anyway the sun in Blackpool was very bright but low, ethereal light I’m guessing means more subtle, hazy?

        Like

  2. Lovely light and the seagull silhouette is so fun. Do you ever use your phone for photos…I’d be interested to hear your take on phones v. cameras. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The seagulls were such posers! And very tame.
      I could probably count on my fingers the number of photos I HAVEN’T taken with my iPhone prior to this camera. We’ve had a DSLR for years but I can’t get to grips with it, quite literally. I find it too cumbersome.
      The quality of the camera in the iPhone is so good that it serves better than most regular cameras in my opinion. It’s just sometimes I miss the feel of a zoom and having a viewfinder or actual button to press. So this compact model will hopefully satisfy what I was missing. But I’ll still use the iPhone for a large chunk of what I take.

      Like

      1. Thanks Haylee…I agree on the quality of the iPhone…but I do miss a zoom…all of my photos lately have been with the phone and I couldn’t be more pleased. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooh, I love the light on the beach. Yes, it is fun to get a new camera. I got a Canon Power Shot two years ago; it is easy to carry, and it does zoom. I have fallen onto the lazy ways, and it sadly sits —unused and unlearned. My plan for the new year is to experiment, to finally give it a chance: take same photo with iphone and with power shot, compare them, and then decide if I want to bother learning it. Stay tuned.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’ll look forward to the journey. I still think I’ll use my iPhone for the majority but at least wanted the option to have something capable of a little more. I’d like to experiment with more long exposures this year and although there are some very good apps that allow it on the phone, I’d rather learn the conventional way πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Haha, thank you – there were some great pieces of driftwood lying about. Would have made a good mantelpiece!
      Up until now, I’d say 95% of the images I’ve taken have been on a iPhone. They’re hard to beat for convenience and quality these smartphones!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

