Who wants to BEER a millionaire?

Who wants to BEER a millionaire?

Okay, so I should be making Bakewell Tart to continue my Bake-Off challenges, but I have to say that since I fell so far behind and the world now knows that lipstick is a showstopper, I’ve lost a bit of interest. But I will get around to it, promise!

This week though, Sam sent me a text asking if we could bake this weekend. We? Okay, there’s an ‘I’ in baking but generally no ‘we’, so I was intrigued as to his motives!

Turns out his Beer Box had arrived (he collects consumes craft beers) and there was one contained that had a recipe for a very moreish treat!

fullsizerender38-722x800

Caramel or ‘Millionaire’s’ Shortbread is delish and is one of those snacks I shouldn’t be left alone with. But I’ve never made every element from scratch. With beer. So no time like the present – time for some Monday Munchies Millionaires!

The beer used was a Brewdog creation: ‘AB:20’, a rum-aged coffee and oatmeal milk barley wine. However, there are loads of recipes for other variations of a ‘beer caramel’ sauce found with a simple internet search, most suggesting a stronger, maltier beer works best.

fullsizerender36-600x800

Aside from needing to watch the caramel like a hawk so that you don’t end up with a pan of toffee, the recipe is super easy.

I swapped light muscovado sugar for dark, mainly because that’s what I already had in. I also got a bit fancy pants and added white chocolate so I could have a bash at a swirly pattern on top. In hindsight, I probably should have piped it on for neatness, but the stuff won’t be around long enough to worry about its appearance.

fullsizerender37-691x800

And there we have it – tiny rectangles of boozy brilliance! The beer adds a strong depth of flavour, rather than being out-right alcoholic, that complements the caramel and removes some of the sickly-sweetness. You could of course omit the beer altogether if you wish and still have a yummy treat.

So grab a morsel, sit back with Frank and try not to eat the entire tray in one go… 😉

 

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

For the shortbread –

  • 125g plain flour.
  • 40g caster sugar.
  • 90g butter or margarine.

For the topping –

  • 330ml of beer (optional).
  • a can of condensed milk (397g).
  • 50g dark muscovado sugar.
  • 50g butter.
  • 200g milk chocolate.
  • 25g white chocolate for decoration (optional).

METHOD:

Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 4 (180C). Lined a 9cm square tin (or similar size) with parchment paper.

Shortbread: Mix caster sugar and flour (sieved) in a bowl then rub in butter to create ‘breadcrumbs’. Form into a dough then press down into the tin with the back of a spoon.

Prick with a fork, then bake for 20-25 mins until firm and slightly brown. Cool in the tin.

Topping: Bring the beer to a slow boil then reduce until it forms a syrup. Watch this constantly as it can turn quickly and burn. Allow to cool for 5 mins then gradually whisk in the condensed milk.

Next, add the muscovado sugar and butter, stirring over a gentle heat until everything has melted and sauce has thickened. Pour over the shortbread and spread evenly. Allow to set for at least 20 mins.

Melt chocolate (I use the microwave) until runny. Pour over the caramel and leave to set for at least one hour. If using white chocolate, drizzle on in lines before setting, then pull a cocktail stick through it to create feathered patterns.

Once set, cut into 8 – 16 pieces (depending or big your mouth is) and enjoy!


Image Credits: All my own.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook?
Come and say hi!

20 thoughts on “Who wants to BEER a millionaire?

    1. Thanks Carol! I guess the tart should be capitalised really as it’s named after a town in the U.K. It’s shortcrust pastry with a filling of jam, frangipane and icing traditionally. 😊

      Like

      1. I have heard about Bakewell Tart from watching the Great British Bake Off and always wondered what it was. I have only seen the first season of this show, and it was delightful. The American cooking shows are horrid, with people so rude.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I only started watching it two years ago, so never saw the first seasons. It’s plays on being very British, which I think appeals a lot of the time – that and the silliness of the hosts!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I thought the swirly bits look really good too, looks very professional. Would prefer bakewell tart myself as not keen on caramely things but it looks good 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks – I can be posh if I try reeeeaaallly hard! Do you know the best bit? I had an excess of caramel left over, so we now have a boozy pot for… dunking, scraping out with your finger, just indulging in general!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

