They’re going on a WERE hunt…

They’re going on a WERE hunt…

They’re going to catch a big one…

Maybe. Or perhaps it’ll catch them!

Anyone who follows me on Twitter may have seen earlier this year that I shared an article from a national (albeit, tabloid) newspaper alerting the public to a werewolf being loose in my neighbourhood!

So I thought it was an appropriate re-post for archive day, what with Halloween on the horizon. It will bring you up to speed with Old Stinker but if you’d like to speak to him personally, you can tweet him @oldstinker (He’s a very tech savvy monster and a lovely chap who has put me on his ‘Do not eat’ list – phew!)


Now, being a lover of all things paranormal (and believing in it for the most part) I was naturally intrigued by this newspaper article! It seemed there were several sightings by local people of a large, upright, dog-like creature near a water source, that leaped over high fences and seen to be devouring the wildlife.

7-bloodcurdling-werewolf-tales-that-will-keep-you-up-at-night-390787 (800x536)

And it’s not just wild animals that’s on the werewolf’s menu – one witness reportedly saw it gnawing on a German Shepherd – isn’t that kind of cannibalism?!

“Of course, it had to be a big dog didn’t it? I bet it was a chihuahua really…”

That was my mum’s take on the story – not thinking to question the likelihood of a supernatural creature lurking in the woodland, but totally disbelieving the accuracy of witness reports!

She was all up for going out with a group of investigators who had been organised to try and track this ‘monster’ down, to coincide with the full moon. I had visions of it being like some medieval witch hunt – I wanted burning torches and crossbows! In reality, I think it got a bit too wet and was called off…

Scaredy cats!

werewolf2-825x510 (800x495)

It did seem that ‘officials’ were taking the sightings seriously though, with a Hull Council member keeping a record of all reports… because it could be a ‘known’ werewolf that has strayed from his patch.

Sorry, what? Yeah, that was my reaction when I read that. Firstly, I’m loving the fact that there are ‘known’ supernatural anythings to local councilors, that warrant  documentation and aren’t passed off as folklore – I wonder if County Hall has an X-Files division…

Secondly, upon reading about these sightings (which, incidentally have gone viral around the globe), I’ve discovered so much folklore about my local area that I wasn’t aware of.

werewolf (700x300)

General feelings are that Wolfy is actually ‘Old Stinker’, an ancient werewolf who gained his name due to his bad breath. Apparently, he used to dig up graves and therefore smelled of decomposed bodies. So, Dracula docked up the road in Whitby, yet we end up with a sweaty mongrel with halitosis… Nice.*

But old Stinker is only one in a collection of paranormal characters and weird goings on that are part of the Wold Newton Triangle – it’s like a less exotic (certainly colder) counterpart to the famous three-sided vortex in Bermuda!

3871128_orig (470x400)

Ancient burial grounds, a prehistoric stone monolith (dating back to 1600 BC) within the oldest known, inhabited village in England (3000 – 4000 yrs old) and a meteor landing in 1795 are just some of the scientifically factual events that have taken place.

As they were a superstitious lot in the Dark Ages, we also have accounts from monks who detail how to avoid zombie, vampire and werewolf attack, stories of green-skinned fairy folk and mysterious disappearing rivers. There’s also a screaming skull inside the walls of a nearby stately home, dragons, UFO sightings and ley lines galore.

In fact, during Saxon times (when January was known as Wulf-monath: the month most likely to be eaten by these pack hunters), shelters were built in the area to protect travellers from ominous shape-shifters. I feel I need to get Buffy-d up, just in case another Hellmouth opens up!

Buffy-series-finale (590x332)

No matter what your opinion of the paranormal is, it does make for a great story and gives a fascinating insight into local history and folklore. I just can’t believe it’s taken me this long to find out about it being on my doorstep!

Oh, and NO WORD OF A LIE… a few months ago (you know, around the time of the full moon), we were driving past some sparse woodland that is part of the area these recent werewolf sightings have taken place. Sat among the trees was a semi-naked man, getting dressed. He had no camping equipment with him – it’s a) not a camping area and b) was right next to the road so probably not a great site anyway.

So you know what I’m now thinking? It was Old Stinker who had stashed his clothes for when he shifted back to human form! πŸ˜‰

Do you have any local folklore tales of creatures creepy and supernatural? I’d love to hear about them in the comments if you do. Until then, watch a bit of Shakira – this song has been stuck in my head since I read the story! πŸ™‚

* Old Stinker was most upset with this description: he snarled, I hastily apologised, we’re all good… πŸ˜‰


Image Credits: weirdretro.org, Youtube, Pinterest and Moviepilot.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

Save

10 thoughts on “They’re going on a WERE hunt…

    1. Ha, sorry – she does that to people! I hope he wasn’t doing anything of the sort – it seemed like a very solitary endeavour. I’m not sure if that makes it better or worse!

      Like

Leave a Reply

