The Day Chocolat’s Juliette Brioche Got Battered…

The Day Chocolat’s Juliette Brioche Got Battered…

Bread scares me. Not the finished article, I don’t have an irrational fear of a crusty baguette. But the making of it fills me with bread dread. Kneading is not my forte and the time required to prove this, prove that, prove you’re a good enough baker…  *Sigh*.

Which explains to some extent why I’ve fallen very behind in my Bake Off Challenge bake-along. I’ve been dodging week 3: Bread Week. 

So I thought I’d double up and do two week’s worth in one go for Monday Munchies. 

And don’t you just love the title? I do. Except it’s a lie as I didn’t make brioche. And yes I know it’s ‘Binoche’ but the former worked better. It does have chocolate in it though!

And the battered part? Well, that covers week 4 – a first for Bake Off with Batter Week. I am definitely earning my bread and batter… (sorry).

So what’s on the menu? Well Bread Week’s technical challenge was dampfnudeln. ‘Huh?’ I hear you say. Exactly, let’s skip these traditional, steamed bread buns shall we?

img_3258

I’m not about to make a show stopper loaf either, when I’m afraid of making things with strong flour, so the basic/signature is what I went with. The requirement was a chocolate bread and I’ve gone with a chocolate and cherry plait. 

Paul Hollywood’s recipe seemed easy enough to follow: I did mess up with one of the ingredients though, buying black cherry fruit filling (coated in syrup) rather than just cherries. Oh well, it just made it a little more gloopy so I didn’t add as many of them.

img_3114-600x800

The plaiting part however… what on earth are those instructions? Talk about confusing! I tried following them but got completely lost so did it my own way. I have long hair – I know how to braid!! Mr. Hollywood on the other hand…

img_3115-800x600

Looks plaited to me!

img_3116-600x800

The end result was very satisfying, if a little burned. And sliced whilst still slightly warm, with a lashing of butter on it is the way to go. Although I imagine it will be very nice toasted with some jam too.

img_3117-800x542

There was a healthy crack, as Paul would say, when I cut into it and it passed the spring test. Have I conquered my fear? Perhaps… Still, shops exist so I’ll not be indulging in making the weekly loaf for sarnies just yet!

img_3119-800x597


Batter week had delicious churros for the showstopper and ‘lace’ pancakes for the technical. But as a Yorkshire lass, I couldn’t bypass the signature Bake that wanted 12 identical Yorkshire Puddings. Especially when (shock, horror) I’ve never made them. But when you have someone like Bessie in your family, where’s the need?!

aunt-bessies_1

Anywho, they were surprisingly easy. However, the identical part was more of a problem – large, voluminous and misshapen was more like it. Oh, and they had to be filled. Except there was no ‘well’ left to fill. So it was more ‘ladle at will’ with the chilli!

img_3083-600x800

Still, they tasted good and that’s the main part, right? I will, however, be crossing that off my life skill list and return to paying Bessie in the future!

img_3084-800x600

So what do you think? Would I progress to Week 5 in the tent? Let’s hope so, next time I’ll be tarting up… something!

Both recipes can be found via the links below – enjoy! 🙂

Chocolate and Cherry Plait

Easy Yorkshire Pudding Batter


Image Credits: My own plus kitchenproject.com, ravepad.com and foodnetwork.co.uk

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook?
Come and say hi!

Save

13 thoughts on “The Day Chocolat’s Juliette Brioche Got Battered…

  1. The bread looks fabulous, Haylee. I actually unconsciously did a big inhale to see if I could smell it off the screen. And I did chuckle at your Yorkshire Pudding comment…I tried (once) to create a Christmas feast (in New Mexico of all places) and to serve Yorkshire Pudding…disaster…absolutely no rising happened…but the taste was OK…and it was fun to try. 🙂 By the way…love the title of this post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you – I’m so sorry we don’t have scented posts! I LOVE the fact that Yorkshire puds made it to New Mexico, regardless of whether they looked the part!! Special points for trying 🙂

      Like

  2. Oooh the plait thing looks just lovely! I make my own bread regularly but I have a bread maker, so it doesn’t really count, does it? But I am so very tempted by the chocolate and cherry creation that I might have to give it a go.
    12 identical yorkie puds?! I thought yorkie puds were like snowflakes – no two could ever be the same! Yours look incredible. I am drooling at the sight of them 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the idea of a bread maker but I know I’d not use it – well maybe twice until the novelty wore off! And exactly… surely only factory baked. Above so precise? I quite liked that they continued to billow!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

