Questions, not candles

Questions, not candles

As in ‘sixteen’. Derived from this little, leather-bound, battered book, found whilst clearing my granddad’s house. 

img_3113-600x800

The post’s title may be making reference to a rite of passage film from the 80s but my first confession would be that I’ve never seen it. But then I only saw Breakfast Club for the first time two years ago. Shush, don’t judge! 

Anyway, I’m tangent-ing again…

So the book. It belonged to my Nana and I’d totally forgotten we had it, let alone that I had filled in more than one page myself. 

img_3099-600x800

The original entries date back to the 1940s – many contributors I have no knowledge of, other than they were people my Nana was in the ATS with during WW2. 

Family members have made more than one contribution, decades apart and it’s interesting to see how their likes have changed as they aged (I don’t even remember Janna Jungle…but my favourite character in public life was Knight Rider. I was 8…)

4329434-jana

But what I found most intriguing, other than looking back at what I enjoyed as a child, was that the whole book serves as a social experiment, a  time capsule of sorts, displaying the changing tastes of generations. 

Many stay the same, such as pastimes (a clear difference in earlier entries with males citing sports and females stating needle-craft and reading) and food preferences.

img_3097-600x800

However, love of certain public figures altered quite a bit: Churchill and the Prince of Wales were popular choices in the 40s and 50s, whereas later entries start to mention more celebrities (although my mum was mortified that she’d once thought Cliff Richard was the bees knees!)

Another massive difference over the years was ‘favourite holiday resort’. Initially, these remained close to home, seaside resorts within a couple of hours travel. Later, the destinations became further afield with other countries and continents creeping in.

I just found it all fascinating.

il_570xn-296615257

So I thought I’d open the floor to you to join in as my blogging friends and confess your answers to these sixteen questions. 

Answer as many or as few as you like (and share in the comments), as I’d love to hear your thoughts and enter you into the online version of this book! Who knows, in years to come the favourite holiday spot might start seeing listings such as Mars and the Moon!

The questions are:

  1. My Greatest Ambition.
  2. My Favourite Sport or Pastime.
  3. My Favourite Book.
  4. My Favourite Character in Fiction.
  5. My Favourite Character in Public Life.
  6. My Favourite Composer.
  7. My Favourite Dish.
  8. My Favourite Beverage.
  9. My Favourite Holiday Resort.
  10. My favourite Mode of Transport.
  11. My. Favourite Motto.
  12. My Lucky Day.
  13. My Pet Aversion.
  14. When do I feel at my best?
  15. When do I feel at my worst?
  16. If not myself, who would I be?

Image Credits: My own, Cardigan and Cravats and Hanna Barbera Wiki

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook?
Come and say hi!

22 thoughts on “Questions, not candles

  1. This is so cool, also really interesting to see how people used different words “automobile” and “quarrel” being good examples.

    1. To be an author
    2. Hiking
    3. Catch 22
    4. Richard Sharpe
    5. Bernie Sanders
    6. Johnny Marr
    7. Sunday roast
    8. English breakfast tea
    9. Zell am See, Austria
    10. Train
    11. People are the worst
    12. Any day that isn’t a workday 😛
    13. Tottenham Hotspur
    14. When I’m alone and writing
    15. On my commute
    16. Hopefully someone less bloody awkward

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for filling it in Tom 🙂 I agree, the language used is another aspect I found interesting. I had to remind myself what question 13 was after reading your answer – I take it you’re not a fan then, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Completely unrelated to my post, but did you drive up to the glacial lagoon when you were in Iceland? We go next week and I really want to make the trip but it seems quite a trek to do in one day.

        Like

      2. We didn’t actually! Definitely would if we ever go back but it was a bit of a trek. The furthest we went was Vik (which I very much would recommend , especially to a photographer like you!) which was 2.5 hours drive from Reykjavik.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Vik’s on the agenda (mainly after seeing your photos!) and Golden Circle is a given. We’re only there 5 days but the glacier seems so other worldly that I know part of me would be disappointed if we missed it. We shall see!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a think:-
    1. To clutter clear my whole house to near minimalist
    2. Cycling
    3. Coco Pinchard series by Robert Bryndza
    4. Ethel – Coco Pinchards mother in law
    5. Emily Thornbury – Labour MP
    6. David Guetta – modern day composer
    7. Spag bol
    8. Tea
    9. South Devon
    10. Train
    11. A place for everything, everything in its place
    12. The day I met my husband
    13. Brass bands
    14. When it’s sunny
    15. When I’m cold
    16. Someone with endless patience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great answers, thanks for coming back to share them 🙂 And I like that you’ve gone with David Guetta, I think too often people automatically think classical when a composer is mentioned, but times are a-changing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do like some classical pieces but can’t say I have a favourite, more a favourite piece of music. Whereas David Guetta, I don’t think there are any, at least of his well known hits that I don’t love.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know if I can answer them all…
    1. To be a photographer.
    2. Favorite sport (to watch not play). Baseball or hockey.
    3. The Sun Also Rises.
    4. James Bond.
    5. Kate Middleton
    6. Beethoven
    7. Pad Thai or lasagna
    8. Red wine
    9. Grand palladium in Punta cana
    10. Airplane
    11.” You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” – Wayne Gretzky.
    12. Saturday
    13. Bad drivers
    14. When I’m able to accomplish many tasks in one day.
    15. When I screw up at work.
    16. ??? I’ll have to think about this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Only missing one is a great accomplishment rate!! Thank you 🙂 I’m with you on the bad drivers and nice to see our Royals getting a mention – Kate is lovely. I’ve also realised this is a good way to get book recommendations!

      Like

  4. 1. To be a respected published author.
    2. Writing.
    3. Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
    4. Frodo Baggins
    5. J.K. Rowling
    6. Ludwig van Beethoven
    7. Spaghetti
    8. Coffee
    9. Disneyland
    10. Train
    11. Keep moving forward.
    12. Every day
    13. Narcissists
    14. Alone when I’m writing, and in the company of family and good friends
    15. When I let my livelihood work pile up
    16. J.K. Rowling or Zoe Washburn — it’s a real toss-up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 1. To write something worthwhile 2. Writing 3. Jonathan Livingston seagull 4. I can’t think of one offhand 5. Ellen Degeneres 6. Schiller 7. Depends on the day 8. Coffee 9. Anything near the ocean 10. A boat 11. Treat others as you want to be treated 12.Every day I’m healthy 13. Don’t have one 14. When writing 15. That would be another list lol 16. I’m fine with being me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fantastic, thanks for taking part! 🙂 It’s nice to see that many people are happy being themselves (quite a few in the book said the same). I’m a fan of the ocean too but not so much the boats!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh this sounds good but I’ll have to think. What a fascinating book to find. One thing that struck me as odd, someone’s entry says their favourite pastime is horse riding yet they have an aversion to horses? What a lovely book to keep for ever though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

