Enough toffee Dan army…

Enough toffee Dan army…

A small army at least.

But I’ve no idea who Dan is.

Okay, it was a terrible play on words. Shall we move on?

So, remember when I made my own toffee chunk ice-cream? Well, I had (and still have) plenty of the toffee left so decided to put some to use in a batch of cookies.

Iceccream2

The basic recipe is a tried and tested favourite that produces soft, ever-so-slightly chewy cookies. None of that brittle nonsense.

Adding the toffee gave an extra dimension of gooey loveliness – the chunks melt in the dough as it’s cooked and ooze with wanton abandon. Plus, using brown sugar helps to enhance the caramel flavours.

cookie3

However, as yummy as these cookies are, I didn’t want to bake an entire batch (that should yield approx 18) at once. So I decided to investigate the ‘frozen cookie sausage’.

I’ve heard of loads of people freezing cookie dough (in fact you’re probably thinking I’m very late to this sausage party…) But the truth is, I’ve never done it.

sausage party
Yet to see it but this film looks hilarious!

Well, I shall be in future, that’s for sure! Once I’d roll the dough into the desired shape, I wrapped it in parchment, then foil, before placing in the freezer (where it will keep for a month).

Each time we wanted a small batch, I simply sliced off pieces about 1cm thick, squished them into a ball and baked as normal.

cookie2

And guess what… Something magical happens inside the freezer. The dough grows! I swear it must have done as we finished up with 30 decent sized cookies in total. Win, win situation!

So if you’re not freezing your dough, do it and always have something on hand to feed little mouths, big mouths, armies and who ever else might pop round!

Do you have any time-saving culinary tricks you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them in the comments! 😊

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 125g butter
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 100g soft brown sugar (light or dark)
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 1 egg (lightly beaten)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 100g plain toffee (chopped)
  • 100g dark chocolate chips

METHOD:

Cream butter and sugar, then add the beaten egg and salt. Sift in flour and fold in to mix. Add any additional flavours.

cookie1

Roll into walnut-sized balls and place on a lined baking tray. If freezing, roll into an elongated sausage, wrap tightly in parchment paper, then again in foil. Simply slice off required number of cookies before baking as normal (1cm thick).

Bake at Gas Mark 4 (180C / 350F) for 7-15 mins (longer for a firmer cookie). Cool in tray for five minutes then turn onto wire rack.


Image Credits: Mine and http://www.guardian.co.uk

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter , Instagram or Facebook?
Come and say hi!

Save

18 thoughts on “Enough toffee Dan army…

    1. Haha, it’s been in the box since Christmas! I can only eat a tiny amount at once though – my jaw can’t cope with any ‘peanut butter mouth’ scenario!

      Like

  1. They look and sound lovely, however my now rather delicate teeth are quaking in fear at the thought of attempting anything with toffee in it. I think they could handle the oatmeal and raisin though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay, because it melts in it’s more of a soft gooey texture – definitely nothing your teeth would need to worry about. But then I don’t want to be responsible to for a broken tooth! 😕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, sorry! I should be saying don’t give in to the craving but I rarely say no to cookies! Maybe opt for a healthier oatmeal and raisin variety? Or just jog back from the shop. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I think it would need to undergo some scientific tests but it really didn’t seem to get any smaller!
      I have sooo much toffee left (not all of that went in the cookies!) so I can happily send out a relief package to anyone who wants one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

