Cake or Biscuit?

Cake or Biscuit?

Vull moon. ‘Arf moon. Total eecleeepse.

These words possibly mean nothing to anyone outside of the UK, but if you’re over the age of about twenty, they should be synonymous with an advert for little discs of joy: Jaffa Cakes.

What are they? Are they a cake of a biscuit? Biscuits go soft if you leave them out and cakes go hard – these defy logic and don’t really do either. They’re in the biscuit aisle, but technically shouldn’t avoid the associated tax because of the chocolate. Very confusing!

One thing is certain though, these sponge-y, orange-y, chocolate-y treats are delicious and moreish: I’ve been known to consume a packet in one go. Shush, don’t judge… I’m sure there’s only about eight in a box… And yes, I’ve used them in a classroom situation too.

jaffa

So when I saw one of these speedy cooking videos, that seem to do the rounds on Facebook, for a giant Jaffa cake, I just knew I wanted to try it for Monday Munchies! I mean, everything is brilliant in miniature but small things made to epic proportions are equally as appealing!

With a recipe courtesy of UNILAD, I was quite intrigued by the use of cooking the cake in a frying pan (and using the same method for the jelly filling). However, beyond that, it’s quite a basic mixture. Still, looks quite impressive, tastes great and would be an ideal cake for a party. You could always jazz it up with some mini Jaffas on top too! What do you think? (I’m know, the edging could do with some work but you should know by now I’m not an expert!)

FullSizeRender(1) (800x653)

WHAT YOU WILL NEED:

  • 2 x frying pans, one slightly bigger than the other. (I used a paella pan for one)
  • 225g butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 270g orange jelly
  • 250g dark chocolate.

METHOD:
Line one frying pan with grease-proof paper, the SMALLER one with cling-film.

Make up jelly with 150ml of boiling water, topping up cold water to 570ml. Pour into smaller pan and allow to set in the fridge for at least two hours.

Mix butter and sugar together, beat in eggs then gradually add flour (with baking powder and extract), mixing until smooth.

Add mixture to larger pan, spreading out as evenly as possible. Bake for 20 minutes at Gas Mark 4 / 180ΒΊC (Okay, so mine took 30 minutes but that’s just my oven. I should really get it checked!)

FullSizeRender(4) (800x703)

Turn out on to wire rack to cool. Once cool and jelly has set, cover cake in a thin layer of marmalade (no bits!) then up-end your jelly to cover (it should sit in the middle)*.

Melt chocolate in whichever way you want (I use a microwave) then spread on top of jelly and cake (be careful this is not too hot as it will melt the jelly again). Chill for 30 minutes in fridge then you’re good to go!

FullSizeRender (741x800)

So, cake or biscuit? Cake or death? Yep, the title just reminded me of the Eddie Izzard sketch, so have a bit of Lego dramatisation – because everything is awesome! Mr. LoverMan – Jaffa! Okay, I’m babbling now… Byeeee!

* Hold on, full disclosure: So it’s lumpy as I didn’t have any orange jelly. It was Sunday and the shops were shut. The local garage only had strawberry. So I used marmalade… with bits in (I don’t listen to my own instructions…) Yes, I should have checked I had everything before I started but things are often better when you don’t plan, right? Yes. πŸ™‚


Image Credits: Mine, YouTube and theguardian.com

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

 

16 thoughts on “Cake or Biscuit?

    1. Haha, consider my wrists slapped! But it tastes delicious (made you drool!) and I’m all about being a rebel in an understated way! I had a giant French fancy as my birthday cake a couple of years back – a bought one mind you, but still yum πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great advert! Love that Eddie Izard scene and yeah everything IS awesome! Not so sure I would want to cook a big Jaffa cake though, looks like a lot of effort. I’d probs just stick lots of little ones together and pretend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that sounds like a plan! It wasn’t difficult though, I reckon even your cats could do it πŸ˜‰ Do you still mentally say the ‘vull moon’ etc when you eat them? I do…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Jaffa cakes while growing up in the UK. They were always a special treat. Luckily we are able to get versions of them here in Canada. I’ve seen a strawberry version, but to me, a true Jaffa cake should be orange…although I’m sure the strawberry one is delicious too!!🍘🍘🍘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They absolutely need to be orange after the type of fruit that gives the name! I did consider doing a strawberry version when I couldn’t get the jelly but thought using marmalade was less of a cheat!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

