Alphabet of Travel Snaps: S for…

Alphabet of Travel Snaps: S for…

AWESOME!

No, wait. That’s not right is it? Call myself a teacher and I can’t even spell!

I haven’t gone completely loopy though (yet), as awesome is the one word I will take away from my trip to this week’s destination – SAN DIEGO!

Although I’d happily describe the place with this adjective, it stuck with me, since my visit several years ago, because it was the word everyone used about everything. They all seemed so happy!

I was primarily in SD to attend ComicCon, where I met this guy…

San Diego1

And proceeded to over-exuberantly tell him how much he scared me as a child, how I’d hide for hours behind the sofa in case he was lurking about, how utterly terrifying he was green but how I always cried at the end… Yeah, I think he’d glazed over by the second word of groupie garbage. (It’s Lou Ferrigno who played the Hulk, if you’re wondering!)

San Diego5

Amongst other MARVEL-ous things, IĀ  also got attacked by (sadly not the real Heath) Joker and was almost thrown out (hence the blurry image) for trying to snap a picture of that cheerleader who needed saving. Until she didn’t because she took up country music instead…

San Diego4

But whilst the convention was all kinds of amazing for a geeky girl, I was surprised just how much I loved San Diego itself. On with the ‘real’ photos…

Staying on Shelter Island at Humphrey’s Half Moon Inn, the place was so chilled out and most of all, friendly. The area itself, formally a sandbank that was developed in the 1950s, is possibly best known for the super-yachts and sailing clubs that are resident there.

San Diego1

Humphrey’s also houses an outdoor concert venue – Ringo Starr and the Four Seasons were playing at it when I visited (not together!)

San Diego3

Along the strip of land that makes up the ‘island’ (it’s actually attached to the mainland), there are several monuments and sculptures: A large tribute to tuna fishermen and the two and a half ton Friendship Bell, presented to San Diego by the citizens of Yokohama, Japan as part of formal relations between both nations.

San Diego5

So S could have easily been for ‘sculptures’ as I quickly discovered that they seemed to be well received in SD!

San Diego Bay is home to the largest US Navy base so it seems fitting that this piece, depicting a sailor celebrating VJ day with a smooch, has gained a permanent home at the Port.

San Diego2

Initially a temporary exhibit (my image is of this, the original), known as ‘Unconditional Surrender’, it was based on the Times Square Kiss, a famous photograph taken in New York during WW2. It became so popular that a on Valentine’s Day 2013, the installation was immortalised forever, thanks to the help of the community.

San Diego1

And that’s the sense I got of the place: community. By far, one of my favourite areas was Balboa Park. Home to San Diego Zoo, where this chap looked a bit ‘LOST’…

San Diego4

…the 1200-acre urban cultural park is also full of museums, theatres and beautiful architecture – a remnant from World Fairs in the 1900s.

San Diego2

San Diego arch0

It was a delightful place to spend a few hours. People pottered about in the early evening sunshine, bands struck up impromptu performances on the open-air stage and old ladies danced like they were still in their twenties. It was…awesome!

San Diego6

So my final thoughts on San Diego? Sunny, smiley and certainly somewhere to return. šŸ™‚


Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing! šŸ™‚

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

27 thoughts on “Alphabet of Travel Snaps: S for…

    1. I didn’t – as it was my first time to any type of comic convention, I was a little scared about wearing one! Besides, I would have wanted something elaborate and trying to pack that in my luggage from the UK wouldn’t have left much room for anything else! šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, you’d like someone I used to work with then – he was the spitting image (minus the make-up, obviously!)
      And yes, I’d hope it’s as lovely and chilled as I remember if I was to go back. I hope you get chance to find out one day too!

      Like

  1. I’m so jealous that you got to go to ComicCon and San Diego. I love San Diego, although I’ve only been twice. (Almost moved there and called it off 12 hours before I was to leave. ) I’ve never been to ComicCon but would like to go at least once. (One of my friends is Lou Ferrigno’s cousin)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! That’s a six-degrees-of-separation claim to fame! Yeah, I’m glad I went when I did but I have heard it’s sold out somewhat. San Diego is amazing though and I’d definitely go back if I found myself in California again. As if you called off with hours to spare šŸ˜³

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was amazing! We’d need to leash him first though, just in case.
      She’s Hayden Panettiere – she was in Heroes if you watched it? ‘Save the world, save the cheerleader’ was the tagline. Think she’s in Nashville now.
      Did you know the last time there was ground snowfall in San Diego was in 1967? I’m full of useless information!

      Like

      1. I haven’t yet but heard good reports about it – have you ventured out to see it?
        I love Trivial Pursuit – it’s all those teeny, tiny cheeses to collect! I am very good at green and blue questions. Orange, not so much.

        Like

    1. Thank you! šŸ˜Š It was brilliant to go to. Quite pleased I went when I did as people often say the experience has gone downhill over the last couple of years. I’d still probably attend again though if I had the chance.

      Like

      1. Oh there were some truly amazing costumes – I went to the masquerade ball at the end too where many of the cosplayers congregate. I’d love to dress up but only if I got my hands on some film-set worthy gear. Otherwise I’d feel I might be sent home! I think I’d choose a steampunk look though.

        Like

  2. I’ve been to LA a ton of times (family there) but always wanted to go to San Diego and never made it there!! I love that immortal kiss! Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

