Web of Wonder #2

Web of Wonder #2

Here’s the second installment of online delights that have captured my attention over the last couple of weeks. If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook, (or have an internet connection!), you’re bound to have seen some of these already.

Web of Wonder #2 is another mix of music, history, nature, art and beauty, plus some science and general madcap tomfoolery! Seen anything worth sharing in your wanders through the webisphere? I’d love to hear about it in the comments. ๐Ÿ™‚

A LITTLE LIGHTWEIGHT MUSIC

OK Go, the alternative rock band from Chicago, are at it again. I don’t mind their music but I’m also not their biggest fan. However, what I do love (as many fans do) are their videos.

Always quirky, usually single-shot creations (which in itself is part of the appeal), the latest video sees them filming in zero gravity on board a Russian aircraft. Have a look, then check out some of their earlier work if you’ve not seen it – a well choreographed extravaganza!


PHOTOGRAPHY

From OK Go, to… okay, go and have a word with yourself! Urbexing (urban exploration), for the purpose of photography, I get. I’d even like to try it out. But this…nope!

high tower selfie

I’m not afraid of heights but this had me feeling a little queasy if I’m honest. These crazy fools have been scaling towers and known landmarks for 5 years, all to get the perfect, unique shot. If the single image hasn’t put you off, you can read the full article here, via Huffington Post, and see the video that shows their ascent.

For more of their photographic adventures, check out their website here.
Remember not to try this at home, kids!


FASHION AND BEAUTY

Malaysian make-up artist, Saraswati (known as ‘Queen of Luna’), has been showing off her remarkable talents by recreating the look of Disney Princesses and villains. If the make-up transformation wasn’t talented enough, the use of her hijab to create the hair is genius.

Her ‘Alice’ and ‘Jafar’ are two of my favourites but there are many more, including DC and Marvel characters – read more of her story here. (Images from Daily Mail, via Instagram).

3191B2A600000578-3465000-Jafar_from_Aladdin_The_self_confessed_comic_geek_and_Disnerd_doe-m-49_1456459061787


NATURE

This caught my eye a couple of weeks ago, tweeting that I should thank myself lucky and not moan about clearing a few leaves out the garden!

hairy-panic-tumbleweeds-inundate-australian-town-feb-17-2016

In essence, ‘Hairy Panic’ tumbleweed has been causing…well, a hairy panic for the residents of a town in Australia! The sheer volume of the plant that needs to be cleared daily, is astounding. It just baffled my head how much blew in! (Read the full details here.)


ย CULTURE

These surreal images are part of a series by photographer Ochoa de Olza, depicting ancient festivals that are still practised today. These showcase the Rite of Spring festival, known as ‘Las Mayas’, held in the Spanish village of Colmenar Viejo, which dates back to medieval times.

DOMYA108

Girls, between the ages of 7 and 11, are selected to represent their families then dressed to sit on a decorated alter for two hours, whilst people come to view the displays. Finally, the village residents head to church for a celebratory mass.

DOMYA107

It’s a bizarre festival and one that some people may object to, given the age of the children (by some of the expressions, I think the participants object too!). However, I enjoy that such an old tradition is still being carried out and that it gives the village which it is particular to, such a unique identity. (Images via National Geographic – more here.)


SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Do you ever venture into the countryside and imagine the man-made structures come to life? I do. I’ve often thought that wind turbines are like huge sentinels, watching over us or that the electricity towers are an army, marching across the hills!

mfpylonbackdrop4a

So, I was very excited when I saw these this morning and immediately found another reason to visit Iceland! Unfortunately, on further research, these amazing, sculptured electricity pylons are so far just concept art. However, the architects (Choi+Shine) have been in talks for a number of years and hopefully by 2017, these giants will adorn Iceland’s landscape in a picture of beautiful functionality. Full proposal here.

In other, science-y news, look how versatile Ferrero Rocher are…

A perfect excuse to buy chocolate – it’s educational! ๐Ÿ˜‰


Image Credits: Youtube and via links to websites given.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

16 thoughts on “Web of Wonder #2

  1. The first picture was almost enough to make me back out of this post all together. I go into an almost instant panic attack looking at that. There’s a video
    Of guys doing something similar. I made myself sick sucking it. The makeup to recreate characters is awesome! I can’t get over those power lines too. I’d rather have those than the straight ugly things we have. At least they would be more interesting
    To look at!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the pylons, I just hope they become reality and take off elsewhere. Sorry for inducing vertigo – absolutely crazy but the images do look amazing! And I agree, her makeup skills are fab, I just found it so interesting how she used her hijab. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. This is awesome… erm, I mean Wonder-ful ๐Ÿ˜‰ I liked some of the photos, like the skeletal figures, art from an eye sore. Yes! The Disney makeup bit was cool to. I like the way the hair looks. If you like the OK Go videos check out Hollerado, a friend’s band. They have a super rad retro 8bit style video for “Americanarama”. You gotta see it to believe it. Stay cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was very cool! I liked the ‘do, do-be-do’ part when he was pointing / extinguishing the ‘pixels’ (worst description ever!) and nice little nod to Pong and space invaders. Thanks for telling me about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahah told you, ya gotta see it to believe it… That’s so cool, you checked it out too. It was up for Canadian Grammy’s. I love these guys, they just happen to be from my hometown… so: biased ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I saw those pylons somewhere last week but didn’t read the article. They’re really good.. Somehow I don’t see the National Grid here investing in sculptured pylons but we can live in hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

