My Handy Crush Saga

My Handy Crush Saga

February 14th. That day in the year when you’re supposed to show love to one and all. Stuff the other 364 days – they don’t matter, apparently!

When a day has this much supposed importance, having the right person to share it with should not be taken lightly.

love-clip-art-4

So, who would be your ideal Valentine? Who, if you were lucky enough to find a genie in a bottle, would you be conjuring up to lavish you with affection?

I’m not talking about your significant other – naturally they are THE one you want to spend the day of love with. But what about the free pass? I’m meaning those unobtainable ‘deities’ that, should they come knocking on your door, you’d be filing for divorce papers asap!

Therefore, today I thought I’d share my list of beautiful people who’d make the grade.

It has to be said, I’ve no desire whatsoever for anyone of these people to suddenly arrive, flowers in hand, to whisk  me off my feet. To me, they are more ‘works of art’, especially the ladies, who I’d be happy just to look at, uninterrupted, for a few hours!


Let’s begin with the female beauties, ladies first and all that! Now I’m strictly heterosexual but that does not stop me appreciating a stunning woman. A female form, overall, is just more pleasing to the eye – sorry gents!

THE BRUNETTES

brunettes

For many years, I told people that I’d happily have Angelina Jolie, painted in gold (like in Beowulf – terrible film, she looked divine) standing in the corner of my room, as an ornament. I do think she’s far too skinny now, but she still has goddess status in my book and is my all time, favourite brunette!

Eva Green – stunning, mysterious and bat-shizzle crazy. I, quite frankly, can’t think of a better way to be! Then we have the cutesy Zooey Deschanel. I’m a sucker for large eyes and I’m hoping that if she turned up, she’d bring her wardrobe too – not that I’d be using her for the dresses, but hey…

Finally, Rachel Weisz. Sultry, elegant but also has a down to earth look that isn’t intimidating. She has a air of vintage Hollywood and screen sirens of the past, that has always appealed.

THE BLONDES

blondes

Cate Blanchett is a handsome woman. When she’s on screen, I’m captivated. She exudes style, strength and effortless chic. And those cheekbones…

I first crushed on Natalie Dormer in The Tudors, when she was a brunette but I’m now a major fan of her face in Game of Thrones (obviously!). Her skin looks flawless and I do find myself somewhat hyponotised!

THE REDHEADS

redheads

Again, both these beauties have an aura, a presence that is more than their looks. Gillian Anderson has aged well since her first days as Scully in the X-Files. Her role in Hannibal showed off her style and elegance and again, her cheekbones are amazing!

I really don’t know what it is about Julianne Moore. She’s attractive though possibly not as stunning as some others on the list. Yet, something draws me to her face, time and time again.

THE SEPTUAGENRIANS

septagenarians

Who says beauty fades with age? These three woman, with a collective age of 210 years, (well, come May, when Joanna Lumley turns 70) are incredible. Okay, I know that plastic surgery can do wonders  – Goldie Hawn is boderline too much – yet again, it’s more than that. They are full of life and spirit and sass. Dame Helen Mirren is THE hottest OAP on the planet, hands down!


Okay, time for the gentlemen. Making lists for this post and then finding the relevant images led me to discover one thing: I have a type. I’ve never thought previously that I did have a particular look I was attracted to in men (or women for that matter, but it seems with females, I like cheekbones!)

All the men on my crush list fall into one or more of the following categories: Moody, beardy, charismatic, piercing eyes, killer smiles. Also, if they’ve played a vampire, have a notable accent or wear a waistcoat, seems they tick the box. Maybe someone should psychoanalyze me…

THE VAMPIRES

vampires

Alexander Skarsgard, the mean, enemy vampire (to begin with) in True Blood. I was always a much bigger fan of him (and his face) than old Bill. Much like I preferred Spike to Angel’s wet blanket act in Buffy. Damn, I forgot about James Marsters…

Aiden Turner, currently the lead in Poldark, played a moody, reluctant vampire in Being Human. And I was hooked. I stopped watching when he left. Oh, and he’s Irish.

However, ultimately, it’s all about Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Strictly speaking, I fell for him in his role as Henry VIII, opposite Natalie Dormer (smouldering!) but he has played Dracula, so goes in this section. FIT!

THE HEROES AND VILLAINS

heroesandvillains

I’m a full on Marvel fan and I can’t deny there have been some incredibly beautiful people cast in the roles of X-Men and Avengers alike. However, off screen, and in other roles, they are equally as captivating.

When Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy were cast together in X-Men: First Class, well… swoons-a-plenty! Tom Hiddleston is a late addition to my crush list but anyone wearing guy liner gets a vote (and Loki wears it so well) plus, this dude can dance!

But my all-time, superhero crush has to be Wolverine. He may be a grufty bugger on screen but Hugh Jackman’s smile is the key to this crush. Oh, and the accent. And the eyes. And…never mind, you get the point!

THE UNEXPLAINED

unexplained

Norman Reedus. The only reason I’m still watching The Walking Dead. In this, he’s dirty, he’s greasy, he’s moody. There should be nothing to like about him but he’s HOT. Enough said.

Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson. Many moons ago, I was subjected to weekly views of wrestling. The Rock got me through it and despite his neck likely being wider than my thigh (I’m not one for the muscular types), I can smell what he’s cooking: It’s smoking…

THE OLDER MAN

theolderman

Robert Downey Jr. (#Team IronMan) is 50 – full of ego and charisma. Ken Watanabe, who piqued my interest in The Last Samurai, is 56. His voice, love it. Patrick Stewart…don’t know, maybe I love his bald head, there’s just something about him – 75. And finally, the sexiest Bond ever, Sean Connery – 85. Need I explain?

So there you have it, my Handy Crush Saga. Do you agree, or do you have crushes of your own that would blow these out the park? Let me know in the comments. Happy Valentine’s y’all!


Image Credits: Originally from Pinterest, edited with BeFunky collage maker.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

54 thoughts on “My Handy Crush Saga

  1. Some excellent crushes too and I like how you can appreciate the beauty of members of the same sex. Some people can be so prickly about that, but if someone is attractive, that’s it their attractive, plain and simple.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, loads of people still think, even in this day and age, that there’s no way you can be heterosexual and still think the same sex are attractive. But like I said, it’s about appreciating beauty, almost like a work of art.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I mean it’s 2016, some people need to rethink their attitudes. I’m with you on admiring beauty, whether it be male or female. I’m straight but that doesn’t mean I can’t say that I think a guy is attractive.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh this is great! I am with you about appreciating beautiful women, and you know that Cate Blanchett and Julianne Moore are my girl crushes. I have a massive list of males crushes and I definitely get the Tudors thing, they were both fabulous in that X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have always been about the tall, dark, never clean-shaven men.

    Alex O’Loughlin is a recent piece of deliciousness I’ve been drooling over (see Hawaii Five-0). Also Colin O’Donoghue (Hook on Once Upon a Time)… Guy Berryman (bass player from Coldplay)… and I have a thing for Hozier because he makes the most beautiful music and I cannot stop listening to him.

    And my exception to the “dark” part…. Thor – Chris Hemsworth. I don’t care what color his hair is… I’m not kicking him out of bed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I prefer his brother, Liam. Although, you’re right. I’d probably not kick him out either!
      I really should start watching Once Upon a Time – we have all the seasons so far but just one of the things we’ve never got round to.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. An eye candy post! Love it! Never would have thought of this! I’ve noticed we seem to have things in common, but not celeb crushes. Ha ha. Although….I do love Normal, but I loved him way before walking dead! Back in the good ole days of boondock saints! He is my fave WD actor too! Amazing actor!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I only watched Boondock for the first time last year (the shame!) Awesome film and I was loving him in this too. We finally saw Deadpool yesterday – Ryan’s more your kind of eye candy isn’t he?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wait…you didn’t see it till last year??!! That is shameful!! I’m shocked! I own both, but the original is the best one! We watch it every St Patrick’s day! I’m jealous about seeing Deadpool! How was it???? Ryan is definitely eye candy! He’s super funny too so that helps! Maybe I should make my own list….ha ha! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t even know there was a sequel…

        Deadpool was awesome – very funny, as expected, and loads of cool little references. If I had one thing negative to say, it would be that his back story was a tiny bit dragged out for me. But I guess they have to set all the groundwork – I know there’ll be a sequel to this! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Boondocks 2 is nooooo where near as good as one. I think it’s called all saints day or something. I have both but really only watch the first. The second was a once in a blue moon watch for me. Now in excited to see deadpool. Now…for a date night!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy Valentine’s, Haylee! First off, best Headline title of the day!! My handy crush here would be Jolie. I agree about the gold Beowulf, but Gia takes the cake, for me. Current brunette is Vikander, blonde is Margot Robbie, redhead is Karen Gillan (DrWho), black is Gugu Mbatha Raw!!!, and caramel pecan is still Penelope Cruz. I’m a Baskin Robbins man myself 😉 31 flavors hehehe. Fun article. I hope you had a fun day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, loving the flavour descriptions! Robbie is quite delightful – I loved her in PanAm (probably one of the few who liked the show!). And thank you, same to you! We went to see a romantic love story – Deadpool 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. hmm. Well for a start I’m getting a bit long in the tooth for crushes as I seem to be older than most people these days. But…..lets dispense with age for a moment and pretend I’m a spring chicken. My crush of the moment is Ricky Wilson – Voice coach and band member of Kaiser Chiefs. He is such a charmer and has a lovely smile too. Before that and going back a few years it was Sergio Pizzorno (Serge) guitarist and song writer in Kasabian. Maybe not for his charm but because I could just sit and watch him play guitar all day long and I loved his dark brooding looks. Unfortunately I am just about old enough to be his mother 😦 Just shows I’m old as I don’t know most of the people you’ve mentioned apart from the old ones haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re never too old for crushes! Ricky Wilson is one of those I did a double take at. I was a big fan of Kaiser Chiefs when they were first around but I always thought he was a little… Sweaty! The. I saw him on the Voice and wondered what had happened! I’m surprised you’re not a fan of Aiden Turner, I’d have had you down as a Poldark fan!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never watched Poldark. That was on TV years and years ago I seem to recall, I didn’t watch it then either. Am not a big fan of historical drama.
        Haha, sweaty Ricky. I’m sure he’d be mortified to hear that.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree about her weight now. She’s spoilt herself really – it’s such a shame that many actresses go way too thin with the media / industry pressure. They look much better with a curves!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh god. That guy from The Walking Dead. I would love to give him a shower. He looks so dirty. But other than that. Hmmmm… My girl crushes. hmmm… Angelina Jolie for sure. Then Bardot. Then Fanny Ardant. I think she is just so beautiful. My man celebrity crushes Charles Denner–his voice was so incredibly sexy. And Michel Polnareff-but the YOUNG Polnareff–he’s not really that hot looking anymore–but his singing voice is the object of my lust for him! Happy Valentine’s Day. This is a fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dirty is gooood – sometimes! 😉 I agree with Bardot – there are loads I could have added to be honest. Have to admit I’ve not heard of Fanny, Charles or Michel, I’ll have to look them up. Hope you’re having a LOVEly day, glad you liked it!

      Like

    1. Oh, Keanu has his moments. I know he comes in for a lot of stick with his acting but I quite like his slow, deliberate way of speaking. A little like Denzel’s tone – I could have added way more!

      Like

  8. Honestly I could not begin to list all my celebrity crushes. What can I say, I’m just an admirer of the male form. My husband despairs but it’s pretty safe to say he’s fairly confident that I won’t be running off with Hugh Jackman anytime soon. Unfortunately! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

