Wednesday Lensday: Artistic Impressions

Wednesday Lensday: Artistic Impressions

A couple of years ago, we had an art themed topic at school which taught the children about some major artists and had them interpreting their well known works for a school auction. Parents came to view these outstanding recreations whilst being pushed ever higher in their bids by a 7 year old auctioneer!

They painted Monets, Seurats and Picassos. And although it baffled them that their Mondrians didn’t reach the million pound price tags they were all hoping for, (“Miss, but it’s just a red square. Anyone can do that!”), they all loved the hype and excitement. However, the favourite paintings to recreate were by a certain Mr. Van Gogh. Some chose Sunflowers (a few creating it as a group project with each person assigned a segment to paint) but by far the most popular was his Starry Night.

The children's interpretion of Van Gogh's 'Sunflowers'
The children’s interpretion of Van Gogh’s ‘Sunflowers’

Ever since, I’ve been somewhat ‘stalked’ by Vincent or at least he’s made himself known in a variety of ways. This is generally due to a running joke between myself and my Dutch friend and colleague who frequently sends me information, facts, news, you name it, about the one-eared master. I honestly don’t know how she comes across these articles, they just seem to find her but I swear she should be on commission from the International Van Gogh Society for her promotional duties!

The children’s interpretations got me thinking about how computers have changed the way we can manipulate art and I began looking at different filters and features within editing software. So for this week’s Wednesday Lensday I have a selection of original photographs which have then been digitally altered to the style of either Pointillism (Seurat), Watercolour (Monet) or Oil (Van Gogh).

I enjoyed playing around with how they look, although I did find that some originals worked better than others or only with one type of style. Let me know what you think of this ‘cheat’s sheet’ way of creating art – It would never replace a traditional approach to painting (for me at least) but it was still an interesting way to get more from your images.

*NEXT WEEK: There’s a bit of a giveaway going on, so be sure to pop back and get involved!*


MONET

IMG_3094

Cornish Cove‘ original photograph and below, digitally altered using a watercolour feature.

cornwallwater


SEURAT

IMG_0808

Summer Skidby‘ original and below, using the Pointillism feature (I guess, by rights, it should be oil, being a windmill, but I preferred this look!)

millpoint2


VAN GOGH

IMG_0012

‘Dusk in York’ – hastily snapped with my iphone and below, manipulated to look like oil on canvas.

York oil


Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing! 🙂

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

13 thoughts on “Wednesday Lensday: Artistic Impressions

    1. Why, thank you! Isn’t manipulation grand? For photos I mean. Probably only for photos.
      I think, as long as you stipulate a minimum viewing distance of 20 feet, you could get away with the easy route and have a gallery opening before you know it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

