Are you putting on the cho-RITZ-o?

Are you putting on the cho-RITZ-o?

If the answer is yes, shame on you! You’re pronouncing it all wrong…just like me. πŸ™‚

chorizo-espanol-rustico-cortado

My Yorkshire accent tends to harden and flatten many a syllable but the delightful chorizo sausage (see, there’s not even a ‘T’ in it!) needs to sounds as exotic as it tastes: Say ‘choriTHo’ or ‘chorEESo’.

Originating from the Iberian peninsula (Spain, Portugal, Andorra and Gibraltar), its cured, spicy goodness makes it a popular choice for tapas and can certainly jazz up any dish. (Okay, not any dish – I’m sure it wouldn’t work well in a chocolate cake, but you know what I mean…)

Although I’m not a huge fan of sausages in general, this has been a firm favourite (and a kitchen staple) for many years. Whether it’s added to a pasta bake, chopped into an omelette or used in a traditional paella, it’s a sure way to heat up the taste buds!

69a60d90737af650ac561beff9457bb5

So as it’s getting increasingly gloomier and colder outside for the northern hemisphere, how about pairing it with chicken in a hearty, warming stew? Even better, because Monday Munchies loves all things simple, it’s a crock pot adventure freeing up more time for layering up in winter woolies or staying snuggled under a blanket!

We served ours with a sticky rice, but it would work equally as well with mash potato, as a jacket potato filling or eaten cold in a wrap – it was even nicer the next day.

IMG_4603

So turn up the fire in your mouth and let chorizo warm the cockles of your tum – you’ll not regret it!

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: (serves 4, takes 6 + 1 hours)

  • 100g chorizo.
  • 500g chicken breast.
  • 400g tin of diced tomatoes.
  • 1 red onion (diced).
  • 1 large red pepper (finely sliced).
  • 3 choppped cloves of garlic (2 if very large).
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil.
  • 1 tsp paprika.
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper.

METHOD:
Fry the garlic and onion in the olive oil, stirring until transparent. Add the chorizo, paprika and cayenne, frying for a couple of minutes and mixing together well.

Add the chicken and cook until just sealed. Next, put everything into the crock pot, mixing in the tinned tomatoes then cook on low for 6 hours.

After 6 hours, remove the chicken breasts, shred / pull apart then replace into slow cooker, adding the red pepper and cooking for a further hour. Serve with your choice of side dish and enjoy! πŸ™‚


Image Credits: My own plus here and here.

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

36 thoughts on “Are you putting on the cho-RITZ-o?

  1. This looks lovely. I just call them spicy sausages haha that works for me. I wish there was an app I could download your recipe into and it would cook it for me too. Oh no, wait – there is…he’s called Greg lolol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks, it’s a bit risky not specifying your spicy sausage though – you could end up with a dodgy Pepperami!
      Slow cookers make cooking easy but it’s always way better to have someone else do the easy so you can put your feet up!
      Thanks for following btw πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Your welcome! I love pepperamis! Especially the bad boy spicy one. We tried the slow cooker thing a couple of times, once we came home to a nice meal and the other time it was black, just black and crispy. It smelled nice but looked like coal. Onwards and upwards lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently tasted the most incredible chorizo at a wine tasting paired with paella. Chorizo can be very, very different, depending on where it is made. I have always heard it as if there were a “t” in it. Your recipe sounds delicious and it will give me a reason to go on a chorizo hunt. I live in San Francisco so there are lots of gourmet sausage places here. (I had some once from a supermarket chain here and it just was not that good, so I have to find out the source of the other one I tasted)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh please let me know how it turns out! I’ve had many varieties in Spain but now we have a local farm to us in the UK that produces the best I’ve tasted outside its native origins.

      Like

    1. I hope the dance was a flamenco (pick the apple, eat the apple, throw it away… In case you need the dance moves!)
      Well done on the pronunciation (show off!) and yay to you being back! You are aren’t you? Hope so.

      Like

      1. Well, now that I know the moves, I shall have to redo it. It was really a dance of nothingness, if you know what I mean. No rhyme or reason, see.

        I am showing off, I must admit. But see, someone told me this. I would never have known on my own. I am! To bother you, that is.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re very honest regarding your knowledge. I’d have just agreed I was magnificently clever! And bother away, very glad to see you popping in πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Ooh, thanks for the lesson – I’ll try it out at school with some of my Portuguese students and see whether they can understand my attempts! Glad you liked the post, thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds super tasty but 6 hours is a LONG HAUL especially for impatient people like me! And what do you do if you are at work? Or do you cook it on the weekend? I wonder if you could poach the chicken instead – my friend taught me to do that for shredded chicken and it comes out lovely, all soft and tender and only takes about 30 mins. Although I always burn my fingers trying to shred the damn things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the beauty of a slow cooker – you chuck it all in and leave it plugged in whilst you’re at work. So this takes about 10 mins prep then it’s ready when you get home (well an hour later with this recipe but there are plenty of others for slow cookers that only need the skill level of chopping a potato!)
      Poaching sounds interesting though, as long as it shreds it should be ok. Just needs time to let the flavours infuse (check me out using works like ‘infuse’ makes me feel like a real cook!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes that’s the one! It’s the most delicious Mexican food ever. Discovered it via Wahaca (best Mexican chain in London hands down- and great recipes in their cookbooks) and then almost died with delight over the real thing in Mexico. I’m not normally a pork fan, bacon and ham aside, but this is otherworldly good!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmmm, I might try it. I reluctantly allowed mayo on a wrap the other day and I’m still alive so perhaps I can be grown up enough to try pork without an associated hissy fit! X

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d be willing to try it with chocolate though, I love it that much!

      I taught twins who had moved to our school from Portugal last year – I may ask them to pronounce it for me and then I guarantee they will laugh at my attempt! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  4. Oooh I don’t know you could try in a chocolate cake? After all chocolate and chilli seem to be popular, tho not keen on that idea myself. Your recipe sounds delicious, I love hot spicy food. I may see if it will adapt from slow cooker to cooking in those oven bags. We use those a lot, very successful at cooking things quick for impatient people like me πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, you should give them a go! I’ve made chocolate chilli cupcakes before with a lime frosting – super delish. Not sure if want a hunk of sausage popping up though!
      I’m not familiar with the oven bags but as long as the chicken is tender enough to shred it should be ok – the chorizo is already cooked after all πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

