Gallery

Wednesday Lensday: They Might be Giants…

On the far, northern coast of Ireland, giants be a-lurking!

60 million years ago, the coast of Antrim was witness to volcanic activity that sprouted the magnificent rock formations, known as the Giant’s Causeway. Made up of 40,000 interlocking columns, mainly pentagonal or hexagonal in appearance, it became a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1986.

IMG_6000 (3)

However, legends tell a different story. Steeped in Gaelic myth and mystery, it was supposedly built by the giant Finn MacCool (Fionn mac Cumhaill), so that he could cross the North Channel and fight Scottish giant, Benandonner.

Folklore aside, it has always interested me, not only because of my love of volcanoes, but also for its unusual structure. So when we were visiting Ireland this summer, I jumped at the chance to see it for myself.

The area, though not as large as I expected, is so… bizarre. It seems very out of place within an otherwise, fairly standard rugged coastline, and if it wasn’t for the hordes of visitors, you could be forgiven for feeling like you’re on another planet. Despite the huge amount of fellow tourists (which surely must be eroding the stones with all the climbing and clambering and detracted from the experience a little), I’m pleased I’ve finally been able to witness this wonder of the world.

Plus, it was only a short drive from here to the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, made famous by salmon fishermen crossing it to reach a tiny island, whilst waves crashed menacingly, almost 100 feet below. Although it has now been reinforced, with more substantial handrails, it once had a single rope to hold on to. I didn’t bother to cross it, purely because there was such a long queue. Honestly…

As an extra bonus this week, I’ve also left you a little video. I’ve been singing the chorus whilst typing this…one of the most famous songs by a band that share their name with my post’s title. It’s all about a nightlight that protects its owner from nightmares as they sleep, just what you need if giants are about!


Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing! 🙂

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

29 thoughts on “Wednesday Lensday: They Might be Giants…

  1. Hello Hauled. Those rocks are crazy and I wouldn’t be walking on that rope bridge, either! Or looking for giants, unless he was a friendly one. 🙂

    Peeking over the fence from Michael’s meet and greet. I’ve got to go back because the name of his blog escapes me right now…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I think Finn was supposed to be a friendly giant, even though he went off fighting! Thanks for stopping by and commenting – it’s a great idea Micheal has had to help promote people 🙂

      Like

    1. I’ll go giant hunting as long as it’s the BFG and not a blood-curdler we’re after! I’d love to say Giant’s Causeway is home ground, but still a little far away from my house but I do live in an extremely cool place – we have mystical moorland, Vikings and Dracula. I’m sure there must be some giants hanging about too!

      Like

      1. Haha, why? I’m the wrong colouring, more Anglo-Saxon I think. Although I’m all about the plaits and reckon I could make a good shield-maiden, like Lagertha 🙂

        Like

      2. A female, warrior Viking! Because then I’d get an awesome longsword – can’t have you getting all the sword play fun! I’m sure with a katana, you’d be revered as some exotic God-like fighter by Vikings 🙂

        Like

  2. Great post, and thank you for including the TMBG’s video for Birdhouse in your Soul. So fun!

    Finn MacCool’s Giant’s Causeway sounds like a great place to visit. If it wasn’t for the stupid Atlantic Ocean in the way, I’d drive there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m still singing the damn song now though, that’s the only downfall! Give it a few millennia and we might have a volcanic pathway to the US – just need to get cryogenically frozen and you’re good to go! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I really hope you get to visit, reckon it would be right up your street. I think I’ve reached that age when everything is taking me back to my youth: new Star Wars, X-Files and Back to the Future day. Oh god, what if we’re wearing shell suits by Spring?!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

