Have a Cup (cake) of Irish Coffee!

Have a Cup (cake) of Irish Coffee!

Monday Munchies nearly became a disaster I gave up on this week. It was early Sunday morning, so my excuse is that I wasn’t fully functioning. It sounds better than admitting I’m useless and don’t bother to pay attention to things! You see, it wasn’t until I got a little whiff of something yeasty, that I realised the flour I’d used for a traditional cupcake was actually a ciabatta bread mix! That could have been interesting…

cook

Starting again, I was intent on creating something that still fit with the month of Halloween. I’ve always been good at making butterfly buns, being my go-to cupcake bake since I was old enough to cream butter and sugar, but delicate little insects aren’t very sinister are they? So, I decided I’d rename them BAT-erfly buns. Tenuous? Yep…plus I’m all about cheesy word play!

Unfortunately, I was foiled again when the chocolate buns came out the oven – they had risen a little too much, which meant they were not going to be very helpful when it came to making bat wings. I’m sure if I was better at decorating bakes, or could make some sugar-crafty awesomeness, I could have persevered. But I’m not and I didn’t. So the compromise was…

Irish Coffee Cupcakes

IMG_4593 (2)Yeah, I’m not great with a piping bag, but hey-ho…they taste wonderful!

I was always making chocolate cakes with a coffee icing – I loathe it as a drink but adore it as a flavour for icing. Add in some whiskey to the mix, et voilà…grown up treats to start, finish or fill up your day with!

I could even tell you that coffee is considered as having magical properties – most notably as a curse breaker or to ward off evil spirits and nightmares. So should you be unfortunate enough to inadvertently invite a vampire in for tea, give them a coffee cupcake. Served on a silver platter of course… extra protection is always wise.

the_vampire_tea_party_by_stephwoods

Boom! Halloween-y reference achieved. 😉


WHAT YOU’LL NEED:
(For the cupcakes)

  • 100g self-raising flour.
  • 125g butter or margarine.
  • 125g caster sugar.
  • 2 eggs.
  • 3Tbsp cocoa powder.
  • 2Tbsp milk.

(For the coffee icing)

  • 150g butter or margarine.
  • 300g icing sugar.
  • 2 Tbsp instant coffee.
  • 2Tbsp whiskey (technically, it should be Irish!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract.

METHOD:
Cream sugar and butter together until fluffy. Mix in eggs and milk, then sift in flour and cocoa powder.

Divide equally between 12 large cupcake cases (around 2/3 full) and bake at Gas Mark 5 for 15-20 minutes.

Leave to cool on a wire rack, ready to be iced.

For the frosting, cream together butter and icing sugar until fluffy. Mix the coffee and whiskey together until the coffee has dissolved.

Add this (along with the vanilla) to the butter and cream mixture, stirring in well. Pipe onto cupcakes, then dust with a little more cocoa powder to finish off.


Next week, it’s Monday Munchie’s October Tea Party, when the menu will have a distinctly Halloween-ish theme. Hope to see you all there, so that you can be introduced to some other amazing foodie bloggers!:)

Image Credits: Here, here…plus my own cupcakes of course!

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

6 thoughts on “Have a Cup (cake) of Irish Coffee!

  1. If its any help silver spoon granulated tends to be finer than the other brands of granulated sugar. They look and sound gorgeous. I like coffee flavoured things but am not overly keen on drinking it. I love the smell of coffee that wafts out when going past coffee bars too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Isn’t it funny, not liking a taste in one form, but loving it in another?! I used to be like it with tomatoes, didn’t like them raw, loved sauces / ketchup etc.
      I think I only ever buy silver spoon…I’m odd like that. It’s not real sugar if made by anyone else. Like Heinz baked beans!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries, hope you find something. Granulated (if it’s the same as ours) still works – I’ve used it when I’ve run out of caster. It’s just a little crunchier!

      Like

  2. Enjoyed your post this morning with my coffee!! I especially liked your phrase “since I was old enough to cream butter and sugar”. I will try your recipe, but not sure what “caster sugar” is. Is it what we in the U.S. call”granulated sugar”? And is “icing sugar” what we call “powdered sugar”? A mystery but the suspects easy to identify.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed the post!

      I’m a bit unsure on the sugar anomalies if I’m honest. I believe icing sugar is known as ‘confectioners sugar’ in America, if that is also the same as powdered?
      We have granulated sugar too, but it is slightly coarser than caster sugar. But your granulated may be finer (or it hopefully gives you a clue as to which type it should be!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

