Orange is the new SOUP!

Orange is the new SOUP!

Or should it be, ‘Soup is the new black‘?

S deliberated over this title when I told him, arguing that it implies that orange is the ‘must have’ item or colour, rather than the soup.

Oh. I’d certainly not thought about it so deeply. In fact, I kind of thought I was being pretty clever with the pun. Now though, I feel a little…thick. Hmph!

However, not as thick as this week’s hearty and healthy addition to Monday Munchies! That’s right, we have a warming autumnal soup, sporting the season’s favourite hue: Orange. Made from roasted sweet potatoes, carrots and red lentils, it’s full of fibre, protein and vitamins A, B and C. Just what you need to stave off those seasonal colds that may be lurking about!

soupvinyl
It reminded me of a vinyl record!

I first started making soups last year when we ‘inherited’ a blender and felt very accomplished after my first batch. Although I was congratulating myself over cooking prowess, I’d never realised just how simple soups were to create. Like, ‘souper’ easy… 😉 I love how you can basically throw anything in and it tastes great! Seriously, if you’ve never made a soup before, do it – you’ll not regret it!

And this one is no exception. It requires minimal cooking time and very little extra in the way of flavour additions – roasting the potatoes brings out their natural sweetness and it’s ready to eat in around 45 minutes. A note about consistency: I love my soups to be thick, some (that would be S) say too thick. I do prefer them to be edging toward being hummus… So should you like yours a tad runnier, feel free to adapt by gradually adding more water as you blend.

ingredients

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: (Makes 1.5 litres of thick soup.)

  • 1 large, sweet potato.
  • 1 carrot.
  • 1/2 cup red lentils.
  • 2 vegetable stock cubes (I use gluten–free).
  • 2 tsp paprika.
  • Salt and pepper.
  • Olive oil (to drizzle).
  • Greek yoghurt (optional, to serve).
  • Chopped coriander (garnish).

METHOD:
Peel and pierce sweet potato and cook in microwave for 5 mins (I do this to ensure cooking / make it easier to chop – if you have no microwave, add 10 mins to your roasting time).

Chop into cubes, place on a baking tray and drizzle well with olive oil to coat. Season with salt and pepper then sprinkle over the paprika. Roast for 25 – 30 mins on Gas Mark 8.

Whilst potatoes are roasting, make up 1 litre of vegetable stock and bring to the boil. Add in the lentils (rinse well first) and the chopped carrot (peeled). Bring back to the boil and simmer for 20 mins.

Drain carrot and lentils, retaining some of the stock in a separate bowl. Drain off any excess oil from roasted sweet potatoes and add to the carrot and lentils in a blender. Put the remaining stock back in and blend on high until smooth, gradually adding more liquid (boiled water) up to 1.5 litres. Add more water at this point if you like it thinner.

Serve immediately, with a sprinkling of chopped coriander and a dollop of yoghurt to garnish (without if dairy-free). Alternatively, allow to cool and keep in the fridge, sealed (3 days) or freeze for up to a month.

soupdish


Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing. 🙂

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

11 thoughts on “Orange is the new SOUP!

  1. I had orange soup this evening, made much the same way as yours. I sometimes also have green soup (which is leek and potato btw) but orange is usually the more popular choice chez moi. Blenders are brilliant aren’t they!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, I’ve not tried making leek and potato – my green soup is usually of the Exorcist variety. Just mintier and without the added demons! I do love my blender though. Thanks for following btw 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

