A Sticky Encounter with a Quadrilateral

A Sticky Encounter with a Quadrilateral

Happy Monday Munchies everyone – I hope you’ve had a lovely weekend!

It’s been a little foggy in our neck of the woods and turning typically autumnal, so for this week’s treats, I again wanted something warming, cosy and ‘homely’. The result? These delicious little squares, packed full of sticky, fibre-filled dates!

IMG_4530
Ok, so these aren’t squares. But rectangles are still quadrilaterals!

Although, I was slow to embrace dates as a snacking opportunity, I’ve always loved date squares (anything wrapped in pastry!) I’ve come to my senses now and always have a bag (often too close!) to hand – they’re just like giant raisins after all, right? But I wanted to try making these snacks that take me back to my childhood.

These are a much healthier version, being coated in a crumbly oat crunch, rather than pastry. Plus, they’re egg-free (and easily adaptable to be dairy free too), making great treats to pop into lunch packs! For me though, the best way to enjoy them is to be snuggled on the sofa with a mug of something steamy. πŸ™‚

The ones I baked called for 1 3/4 cups of oats, but for me there wasn’t quite enough coverage left for topping – therefore I’ve increased the amount slightly below. Also, if you’ve any dates left, why not try out this interesting idea from Sarah Moore. MUST. BUY. PEANUT. BUTTER!


WHAT YOU’LL NEED:
Filling

  • 2 1/2 cups of dates (pitted and chopped).
  • 1 cup of water.
  • 2 Tbsp of lemon or lime juice.
  • 2Tbsp brown sugar.
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda.

Crunch topping

  • 2 cups of rolled oats.
  • 1 cup of plain flour.
  • 1 cup butter or margarine (slightly melted).
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar.
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder.

METHOD:

Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 4 (180Β°C). Line a 20cm square tin with a baking paper strip – generously buttering the other two sides.

IMG_4527

Put all the filling ingredients into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Simmer for 5 minutes, stirring frequently, then allow to cool.

Add all dry crunch topping ingredients to a bowl and mix well. Combine with the butter then use half to coat the bottom of the tin. Press down firmly.

Add the date mixture, spreading evenly. Use the remainder of the topping to cover, pressing down lightly. Bake in the oven for 50 minutes, or until crunch is golden brown.

IMG_4529

Remove from tin carefully, allowing to cool on a wire rack for 4 hours to set. Finally, cut into squares – makes 9 to 16 pieces. Enjoy! πŸ™‚


Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing!

Did you know you can follow the Bobbins on Twitter and Facebook? Come and say hi!

8 thoughts on “A Sticky Encounter with a Quadrilateral

    1. They are quite ‘old school’, definitely one most often consumed as a child (or currant squares, they were even better!). Don’t think they’re as popular these days, but put local bakeries still sell them. I didn’t know, until I looked for recipes, that they seem to be quite a traditional Canadian treat. Hope they turn out as well as you remember!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My mom used to buy them from a local bakery around Christmas time. It’s a really traditional treat πŸ™‚ I haven’t found some good ones where I live now and mom never made them so it looks like it will be up to me to make some of I want any πŸ™‚ thank you for sharing your recipe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

