Gallery

Reaching the end of the Rainbow(fication Chronicles)

So summer is pretty much over, I’ve passed leprechauns along the way and now I’ve reached the end of the rainbow! My photo challenge to take images of each of the seven colours, a week at a time, is complete.

It’s been an interesting challenge as it has made me appreciate the colours that we take for granted around us everyday. For the most part, I purposely only photographed mundane objects – individually the images are nothing special. However, when put together in a collage, I hope they represented each shade well.

As promised, I’ve now incorporated all the hues together to give a rainbow effect. It also seemed a good post to include as my entry to Cee’s photo challenge – The colours of seeing. I was trying to look for colour after all!

The first image I created using BeFunky collage maker. I chose to only use the 6×6 grid, but could have created a larger one to use all my images if I’d wanted.

Rainbow collage

Next, using a free online photo editing software, I used the kaleidoscope filter to create the patterns. I could have seriously wasted an entire day playing around with this (I probably did lose at least two hours!), but I finally settled on a pattern that reminded me of a lotus flower and another that looks like a spider in a web. Isn’t technology marvellous?! I may now have to go back and kaleidoscope each week’s entry. 🙂

It would also be a very easy project to do with children, whether at home or in the classroom, that could be printed out / made into canvasses or cards to give as gifts or just as a funky piece of art for their rooms!

LOTUS
LOTUS
SPIDER WEB
SPIDER WEB

I’d like to thank everyone who submitted their own versions to The Rainbowfication Chronicles – it would be lovely to see your full spectrum versions and whether you have any other ideas for ways to edit them creatively. Just remember to leave a pingback in the comments! And be sure to check out earlier editions of the Rainbowfication Chronicles to see how I built the final spectrum.

Next week, Wednesday Lensday will be back to black (and white) with monochrome images, but I’ll certainly be making sure there are some splashes of colour from time to time!

If it’s raining, look for rainbows.
If it’s dark, look for stars!

Haylee x

Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing 🙂

17 thoughts on “Reaching the end of the Rainbow(fication Chronicles)

  1. Your Rainbow came together Splendidly! I love the way you edited them into the collages. Very creative (its very easy to lose a day going over photos and playing around with them) Great Work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I tried blurring the images at first but I think it gave my processor a slight seizure. Very glad I found the kaleidoscope option 🙂 Just followed you back on Twitter – loving the profile image!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! And thanks for hosting 🙂 I wasn’t sure of it was technically acceptable, being a collage, but figured it would be ok as you said ‘be creative’!

      Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I have all these harebrained ideas that I usually struggle to execute, so was very happy when it turned out as I imagined. Cue every child in the class taking home a kaleidoscope Christmas card this year..!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

