Fitting you with weapons in the form of words

Fitting you with weapons in the form of words

I’m a huge fan of words. I mean, where would we be without them? We’d be endlessly stuck in a world requiring us to jab and flap to get our point across, like some frustrated toddler tourist!  I will happily use fifteen words when one would suffice: I say it’s exercising my vocabulary, others would say I’m waffling! But as the English language is so diverse and interesting, it seems rude not to acquaint yourself with as large a fraction of it as possible.

I’ve always enjoyed learning new words, finding their origins fascinating. Yet, two of my favourites are perpendicular and izquierda (Spanish for left, as in opposite of right). Neither of them have outstanding meanings, I just enjoy how they roll off the tongue! However, being short-tongued often causes me problems, especially with the word thistle (because that’s a word we use every day isn’t it?!) and until I was five, I couldn’t pronounce the letter F (I guess I’d become fed up of being ‘OR’ years old!)

Working in education has expanded my vocabulary immensely. When you have to think on your feet and come up with a list of synonyms for ‘nice’ to illustrate that there was a valid reason for banning its use by your class, having a well stocked brain dictionary is essential! Words are powerful, opening many a door to the user although more frequently these days, they are used negatively. Despite what the old adage teaches us about stick and stones, words can hurt us. However, they can also heal and inspire us and this is why I love them. Whether they break or mend, bring joy or offend, I believe a solid understanding of a language and its words is one of the greatest skills to teach or learn.

IMG_4061

As much as I enjoy descriptive vocabulary, painting beautiful imagery in your mind, I’m also a fan of snappy, simple sentences that can pack a punch and make you think. Quotes can do just that. Snippets of wisdom or expressions of humour, a quotation can empower you, perhaps make you feel less alone or simply be coughed up to rescue any given situation. So today, I am sharing some quotes I enjoy. These originate from literature, pop culture, celebrities and lyrics (as in the post title, a lyric from Fall Out Boy’s ‘This ain’t a scene, it’s an arms race.’)

Some you’ll recognise I’m sure but I’d love to know which are your all time favourite quotes and why? Which sentence is your go to phrase when you need motivation or has become your catchphrase?

As always, thanks for reading and I hope at least one of these quotes brightens your day. 🙂


Audrey-Paris

– Audrey Hepburn –

Nothing is impossible, the word itself says, ‘I’M POSSIBLE’!

To plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow.


IMG_4063
Apparently a quote by Norman Vincent Peale, but I always thought it was astronaut Neil Armstrong, haha!

– George R.R. Martin : Game of Thrones –

A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone…

maxresdefault

You know NOTHING, Jon Snow!

(Couldn’t possibly leave out Ygritte’s dulcet northern tones!)


– Lewis Carrol: Alice in Wonderland –

It’s always tea-time!

I can’t go back to yesterday, I was a different person then.

020a3d68faee287b717d0fce3db242fb


– Stephen Hawking –

Look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Try to make sense of what you see, and wonder about what makes the universe exist. Be curious.

– Steve Jobs –

Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… The ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules… You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things… They push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do.

Stay hungry, stay foolish.


-Roald Dahl-

Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.


gandalf


 – William Shakespeare: A Midsummer Night’s Dream –

And though she be but little, she is fierce!

(Don’t mess with this little volcano!)


– Great British Bake Off –

Ruby-Tandoh_3060687k

I think it was Ruby Tandoh, runner up in the 2013 competition that said this, but I’ve probably paraphrased. Still, works wonders in many a situation!

Nothing that a bit of buttercream can’t cover up!


– A wise old teacher –

Statistics are like a bikini: What they show is interesting but they cover all the important stuff!


And finally, this one that I read recently but unfortunately can’t remember where from. But hopefully this post has met the criteria!

A blog post needs to be short enough to be interesting, but long enough to cover the subject.

Image Credits: Pinterest, YouTube, deviantart.com and my own 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fitting you with weapons in the form of words

  1. I must admit I don’t know any of those quotes, perhaps I’m not very well read 🙂 I like the “It’s always tea-time” though I think I would change it to “never mind – there’s always tea-time” and “A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone… ”

    The only quote I ever remember and always seems to ring true is one my boss used to always be quoting “One should never assume” but perhaps it was used more as a reprimand than a quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wise words from your boss, I’m sure it wasn’t a reprimand! I think the sword and a whetstone quote is in my top three of all time, but that’s because I’m such a geek about Game of Thrones 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

