Do BLONDIES have more fun?

Do BLONDIES have more fun?

I couldn’t personally say, having always been a dark haired girl. I ventured into the realms of red before, only really dipping in a toe before heading straight back to the dark side. Mum would tell you blondes don’t have more fun – she tried it once, hated it and quickly went back to black brown… Except it came out bottle green! Still, it matched her high school uniform, so silver linings and all that! 🙂

FullSizeRender(18)

Obviously, I’m not going to be talking hair colours though on Monday Munchies, no this post is clearly about those pale, white chocolate relatives of the humble brownies – The Blondies. I can honestly say that before baking these I’ve never even tasted a blondie. You see, I’m not a huge fan of brownies, being a ‘take it or leave it’ person when it comes to chocolate (Yes, you did read correctly, I could happily live without chocolate!) They’re often too dense and rich for my pallette. Therefore, I assumed blondies were more of the same and would be dry and perhaps brittle – eugh!

With that in mind, I wasn’t fussed about making them, but as I’d perfected a gooey, chewy brownie recipe (I’ll share at some point in the future!) I wanted to see if I could replicate it, albeit with different flavours. So, knowing cranberries were a good pairing for white chocolate, plus the benefit of already having some available, I prepared to bake!

The result? Extremely glad I tried them out and it’s certainly one I’ll revisit – and so far, yes I think blondies are far more fun than their cousins!  🙂 This recipe is super easy (as are most brownie creations) and comes out sweet and fairly moist, yet still retaining the denseness these treats are known for. I added in some dried apple pieces too but kept these to a minimum as I didn’t want the sweetness to be overpowering. For added crunch I threw in some pumpkin seeds (S has a nut allergy), but it would work just as well with chopped macadamias or almonds.

A sweet little treat, perfect to have with an afternoon teacup! Let me know what you think in the comments and whether you have any tried and tested blondie favourites. Enjoy! x

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: (Makes 12-16 blondies, depending how large you like each piece!)

  • 125g butter or margarine.
  • 200g white chocolate, chopped.
  • 100g soft, light brown sugar.
  • 130g plain flour.
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 50g of add-ins (I used 25g cranberries / 10g dried apple and a good handful of pumpkin seeds).

METHOD:
Pre-heat the oven to Gas mark 4 (180 C) and line a 20cm square baking tin / dish. Melt butter and half the chocolate together (either over boiling water or in the microwave – I chose the latter for quickness!). Whilst it cools slightly, whisk together eggs, sugar and vanilla then add in butter mix and whisk again. Sift in flour and salt, finally adding in the remaining chocolate and extra flavours. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 25 mins (or until golden brown). Leave to cool in the tin before cutting into squares.

One thought on “Do BLONDIES have more fun?

Leave a Reply

