Gallery

The Rainbowfication Chronicles: RED

As you know, my photography preferences generally fall into a strictly monochrome box. However, that’s not to say I don’t appreciate or take colour images, I just think the ones I personally snap look better stripped of the spectrum! Ones from my colour collection usually involve the sky (I love clouds but we’ll leave that for another post!), interesting angles of light or a vivid contrast of colours. I’ve added a few of my favourites below to see what you think (and yes, there’s a monochrome image in there too, but the light qualifies its inclusion!).

Recently, the spread of virtual rainbows around the globe, in support of same-sex marriage, got me thinking. Whatever your views on the subject (I personally support anything that promotes happiness), you can’t deny that rainbows are a beautiful, naturally occurring phenomena. These thoughts inspired me to want to take more colour images and as our school holidays have extended to seven weeks this year, I came up with the idea to set myself a challenge! I aim to take images focussing on one colour of the rainbow each week  (yep, that’s 7 weeks!), with a view to creating a full rainbow collage once the set is complete.

Low and behold, when I got home and caught up on blog posts, Brey from Ordinary Adventures had written a post about her love of red. The images of items she owns in the brightest of the primary colours were just the thing I had in mind for my collage! Colour is everywhere and sometimes I think we fail to appreciate (or even register) it in the familiar objects around us. So whilst I’m doing this as a personal little challenge, should anyone like to contribute and do their own version each week, please add a comment, linking back to your post of prettiness! Images can be of anything, from the mundane to the magnificent. Perhaps we can create the world’s largest rainbow collage?!

So without further ado, here are my offerings (so far) for RED.

(P.S. I guess it’s quite apt that P!nk appears twice, even if she’s not a true rainbow hue!)

Image Credits: All my own, so please be sweet and ask before sharing 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Rainbowfication Chronicles: RED

      1. I was wondering what the next colour would be. It’s funny but I nipped out part way through doing the post and kept looking out for red things everywhere. Will keep an eye out for orange.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, I’ve been the same – ‘ooh orange, ooh peachy, that’s orange!’ I’m like a colour magpie! Certainly making me appreciate and look for colour in unusual places 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Lovely splash of colour. I might join you, though my photography skills leave a lot to be desired. (I blame the tools, poor workman and all that) 😉 As for clouds – we have lots, every day is a monochrome day 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for dropping by! All the more reason to join in and eradicate the storm clouds – a splash of colour cheers everyone up (although there’s still beauty in monochrome clouds, I love storms!)
      Liked your post about your dad turning 80, especially important events that have happened – my grandad has just had his 96th birthday, it’s quite scary to think how much the world has changed!
      And I procrastinate a lot too… It’s amazing I’ve kept the blog going for two months!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

