Do you accept my Cookie policy?

Do you accept my Cookie policy?

I hope you do, but then everyone has different preferences when it comes to food and the way things should and should not be cooked. As a tea drinker, I am partial to a good biscuit, but given a choice of this category I’d always opt for a cookie – an oatmeal and raisin one at that. But what constitutes a cookie? Do you like yours soft and squidgy, chewy and dense or biscuity and brittle? (Brittle may be a bit of a negative adjective to use, but these are my least favourite type and quite frankly, nothing more than a large teething biscuit!)

My eating policy only covers the softer variety, particularly the type that comes from the cookie store Millie’s Cookies, which I’ve discovered is a north of England phenomena, with the odd store randomly in Paris and Malta! So I was quite excited to find a recipe on BBC Good Food for a ‘Millie’s’ copycat. I’ve never made cookies mind you, but it seemed quick and easy so I thought I’d give it a go and, of course, adapt it!

I didn’t have the light brown sugar required in the recipe, but dark brown instead. This worked out just fine as it gave an almost toffee flavour to them. I also didn’t have the 200g of chocolate chips needed, so I simply made up the difference with what I did have – mini marshmallows 🙂

The dough was enough for 24 cookies, which I baked in 3 batches. Well, it was a bit of a Goldilocks situation. The first one looked the part, but was slightly too gooey and undercooked. The second batch I went too far and burnt the edges. But by the third, I’d gone all Baby Bear and got them just right! The mallows gave a really lovely texture, but a word of warning: it needed an extra 5 – 10 mins cooking time than the recipe states (which has my paraphrased version at the end of the post if you don’t wish to follow the link). You really need to watch them from 7 mins onwards.

Once you have the basic recipe, you can pretty much add in what you like – Smarties / M&Ms, cherries, peanuts, whatever. As long as it totals approximately 200g. I might try cranberry and white chocolate next…

What you’ll need:

  • 125g butter
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 100g soft brown sugar (dark or light)
  • 225g self raising flour
  • 1 egg (lightly beaten)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 200g of flavours (chic chips, raisins etc).

Method:
Cream together the butter and sugars. Add in the egg and salt then sift in the flour and gently fold together until mixed. Finally, add extra flavours.

Roll into walnut sized balls and place on a lined baking tray, well spaced apart. Bake for 7 mins at gas mark 4, or 10-15 mins for a firmer cookie. Allow to cool on the tray and set, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool fully.

A plateful of squishy cookies, perfect as a coffee companion or a bedtime nibble. Eat them warm, cold, dunked, however… Just eat them!

Oh one more thing, whilst we’re on a biscuit policy subject, Jaffa Cake: cake or biscuit? Discuss… 😉 x

5 thoughts on “Do you accept my Cookie policy?

  1. I think experimenting is half the fun of baking. Sometimes you stumble on something good you might not have if you were just “following the rules”. Plus, it looks like they turned out okay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks yummy! I wonder if adding the marshmallows changed anything? While the weight would be the same, since they’re lighter, the marshmallows would take up a much bigger volume, right?

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 But gosh, apart from the cooking time I’m not sure – I’m not very technical unfortunately, more a ‘throw it in and see’ cook. Which I know can be disastrous for baking! But yes, much more volume which dissipated quickly once in the oven. Think I ended up with a little over 100g of mallows. But to add any other ingredients to make up the 200g I’m hoping would work if they’re a similar weight/density to choc chips. This is why I need a permanent disclaimer – any advice taken from me is at your own risk!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that’s good to hear! And your comment has been approved now so you can’t change your mind 😉 (I’ll not banish people if they like the ‘wrong’ type of cookie though!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

