3T + F =

3T + F =

Tea-Time Treat Fail…Kind of…

Baking is one of my more frequented fads, especially since I began watching The Great British Bake Off. I watch in awe of their creations, these untrained Muggles, who try to out-bake one another each week with scrummy works of art. Couple it with being filmed in a tent full of vintage bunting and the comedy presenting duo of Sue and Mel, it’s an enjoyable piece of reality TV, even at the risk of being potentially fattening!

GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF
Mel Giedroyc and Sue Perkins

I’ll then don my spotty apron and imagine I’m just as good. I’m not… But I’m okaaay-ish with basic recipes. You see I’m lazy and again don’t have the patience to perfect things. So I like quick bakes that take little effort for tasty results. I learned the basics from my Nana as a child, so I’m not completely stabbing in the dark, but still, I’ll not be winning any prizes!

Today’s attempt was a Ginger Sponge Traybake with Dates and Choc Chips. The basic recipe came from BBC Food but I always like to adapt things, so I chucked in the dates, choc chips and some cherries. I didn’t measure them but just looked to see if it was well spaced in the mixture! Celebrity chef / judge on Bake Off, Paul Hollywood, apparently said you should measure everything in baking, nothing in cooking. I should probably take more notice of his advice!!

The Great British Bake Off
Paul Hollywod and the ‘British Institution’, Mary Berry. She’d have hated my soggy bottom…

Anywho, the result wasn’t as bad as it could have been but not as fabulous as I wanted either. The middle didn’t cook through (I think my oven temp is out), but the edges were salvageable, so I simply cut them off! And what to do with a slightly soggier centre? Serve it warm with cream and tell the world you intended to make a pudding in the first place 🙂

  FullSizeRender(1)  FullSizeRender

Should anyone with a higher level of expertise wish to recreate it, follow this BBC link and add approx. 50g each of chopped dates, cherries and choc chips. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

