Summer is coming…

Summer is coming…

Allegedly. Fokelore threatens its existence about this time each year if you live in Britain. And sadly, hearing the words also means it’s time to prepare ourselves to say farewell to Game of Thrones for another year ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  

Tomorrow I’ll be watching E9 Season 5 of GoT, the penultimate one that is usually hailed as THE episode of the season. Although, following season 4’s E8 and last week’s stunning, mouth open, what have I just watched offering, it seems 8 is the new 9, Orange is the New Black (another fabulous series!). 

I’m sooo excited to watch it. I’ve loved every minute of the series, even in its times of controversy or boring meanderings, with its myriad of often confusing characters (to me at least, it doesn’t take much for me to be confused!). 

I’m still fervently Team Daenerys, and want an ending that includes marriage to Jon (which will be totally legit based on historical evidence should his heritage be as suspected), Tyrion being godfather to their children, alongside his duties as Hand to the Queen, Varys being Hand of the Hand (just because I love the interaction between Dinklage and Hill) and Arya becoming some badass knight like Brienne.   

These are all musings as I’ve no idea what will happen. You see, I have little book knowledge. If I was the third member of the GoT themed podcast A Cast of Kings, the introduction would go something like this:

“I’m David Chen and I’ve read NO books in George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’. ”

“I’m Joanna Robinson and I’ve read ALL the books in George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’. ”

“I’m Haylee and I’ve read one and three quarter books in George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ then found them a little heavy going so moved on to something else…”

As I always do. I’ll finish A Clash of Kings, honestly, even probably before Season  6 starts… 

I rarely read books AFTER watching the film / TV adaptation, preferring to conjure my own actors by reading first. And maybe that’s why I’ve not found the books as fascinating. What they have helped with is my understanding of character motives and clarified the many subtle plot points that I may have missed on screen. 

However, by all accounts, seeing as a) it apparently goes downhill after book 3 and b) the TV version is now pretty much ‘off-book’ it’s likely I’ll only embark on the next instalment and stop. I need something to fill the hiatus between seasons!

Ooh, I forgot Meagery. I need a place in my finale for her. LOVE Natalie Dormer, ever since The Tudors and besides, she needs to be queen of somewhere, poor lass has manipulated so well but to no avail it seems. Plus, in your face Cersei, she was still fairest of them all even covered in filth!

  

So…tomorrow! How on earth will they follow last week? Can’t wait ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “Summer is coming…

  1. Right on! You listen to A Cast of Kings with Dave and Joanna (JoannaRobinsonOfVanityFairDotCom, her actual name according to Dave Chen.)

    Your term “Hand of the Hand” is perhaps the best thing I’ve heard today…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

